Mission Statement

In my first ever post, I set some lofty goals for 2015 for my writing endeavors. This blog, Project Blacklight, was one of those goals. I must say that I am excited to start this new venture. It means a lot to me and my budding career. After the support and encouragement of friends, family, and social media, I decided I could no longer ignore what was staring me in the face. If I am to make my mark in this universe as a writer, I need to build an audience. I need to present myself in the best light possible. I need to…well, write.

Which begs the question: why start a blog? For me, the better question is, “Why start a new blog when your last endeavor failed?”  Before I answer that, there is some history I must share.

This is actually not my first attempt at blogging. And this is not the first time I used WordPress to blog. Several years ago, I was diagnosed with having a cystic ameloblastoma on my jawbone. It was not cancerous, thank goodness, but it had to be removed. My wife and I did some research on the condition beforehand. Apparently, this was kind of rare. I read blogs about how patients coped with the condition before and after, about how eating habits and food choices changed. My wife suggested I do a blog chronicling my journey with ameloblastoma. In fact, that was the title of my blog. I used Blogger to record my progress. After returning to a somewhat ‘normal’ routine, I didn’t feel the need to keep up with that blog.

Years later, after my daughter was born, I admittedly, haphazardly, started a WordPress blog. It was going to be a blog/journal about my observations of the world around me. I titled the blog, “G. R. Unfiltered.” I had all these great ideas. But one thing was sorely lacking. Well, two things. Planning and discipline. As writers, it is important to make every moment count. We have to carve out time to write, dedicate a specific amount of time to write, and if we can’t do the first two, seek out opportunities to write. Unfortunately, I did not. I admit that to this day, I have issues with carving out time and creating opportunities to write in journals, jot down notes for future stories, craft a short story, etc.

So, knowing my feeble attempts to blog and given my history of not being as disciplined as I should, the question arises: How is this blog going to be any different than the lasts? Truth. I don’t know. I don’t know if this endeavor is going to be successful than the previous attempts. I don’t know if I am going to attract an audience I did years ago in middle school. There are so many unknowns in the world. But the one thing I tell myself, that others told me, is that I won’t know until I try. I won’t get anywhere in life living in fear. I have to have faith. I know I am a good writer and I have a gift I want to share with the world. And I can’t do that if I’m hoarding my stories in a composition book, writing draft after draft with no one to share what I’ve done.

And thus, this is how Project Blacklight came to be. In my pursuit to be a more devoted writer in 2015, I needed a vehicle to show the writing world what I can do, what I bring to the table. Project Blacklight is that vehicle. Like my last blogs, I have a lot of ideas, a lot of stories to share. What’s different? I have a plan. I have goals. I have focus. I am working on the discipline.

The bottom line: if I call myself a writer, then I better…write. And not only write, but share. Whether it’s journals, short stories, or this blog. This year, I am claiming the title of “writer,” and no one is going to tell me otherwise.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

Leave a Reply

