Students of the Game

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Fireside Chat.”

As a new blogger, I am fascinated how others started blogging and sharing their works. There are a few whose blogs I follow and have “met” on Twitter. Those who share a passion for writing. I want to learn from them on their writing process, what they’re working on, and incorporate their lessons and techniques so I can become a better writer.

It’s true that when we write, we usually spend it by ourselves, shut off from the rest of the world for moments at a time, creating something out of nothing. But as in life, writing is not meant to be hoarded or boxed away. Writers, as with anyone else, cannot navigate the waters alone. Writers need other writers to balance them out; to share their works, to discuss what works and what doesn’t. One of my goals is to meet and join a writing group. So far, it’s gone rather slowly. Partly because I haven’t dedicated the time to research groups in my area. I look to get better and find a group that can work around my hectic schedule. (Good luck to me finding such a group, but that’s what social media is for, I suppose.)

There are so many people I’ve met through Facebook, Twitter, and WordPress, it’s hard to choose one or two or three people I really want to sit down and have a long chat. I want to meet them all. I believe we can learn from each other. In a way, we’re all students of the game.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

1 thought on “Students of the Game”

Leave a Reply

