10 Ways to Get in the Writing Mood

I struggle with getting in the right frame of mind when it comes to writing. These tips help me, and I hope they will help you, too.

Jessica White

Writing scenes often requires setting one’s mind in the right mood.  Some scenes are intense, some somber, some hysterical. As a writer, I can’t allow myself to travel the emotional roller coaster all the time.  I can’t meditate on being angry or scared for the amount of time it takes to write a scene.  But there are a few tricks I keep in my pocket to get me into the zone quickly.

10 Ways to Capture the Right Mood to

1. Find the Right Song

Nothing can put me in the right frame of mind quicker than music.  I usually pick a soundtrack of songs that fit the pacing and mood I need for certain scenes, then I can come back to the same songs next time I sit down to write.  For Surviving the Stillness, my go to songs were Tenth Avenue North’s Worn, Shane and Shane’s Though You Slay Me, and Jars of…

View original post 988 more words

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

Leave a Reply

