The Heart Wants What It Wants

Being this is Valentine’s Day, I figure I contribute a little something, even if it’s my first flash fiction piece.

Sheila sat at the bar, her magenta dress flowing down to the floor. The dew from her martini trickled down to the napkin, making a perfect ring. She glanced down at her Blackberry and let out a sigh. Nothing. Sheila stuffed the phone into her clutch. What was taking so long?

“Another one, ma’am?”

Sheila shook her head. She felt something vibrate. She fished out the phone. The ID read “Wiley.”

“Hey, baby. Are you on your way?”

“Bad news. The boss wants this presentation completed ASAP. I agreed to stay late to get this finished.”

“But this was supposed to be our night. You promised me.”

“I know I did. I’m sorry.”

Sheila hung up the phone. Her face turned sour. Tears welled up in her chocolate eyes. She waved for the bartender.

“Check, please.”

“Just a moment.”

A towering gentleman approached Sheila, dressed in an ash grey three-piece. She turned toward him. He placed his hand upon hers. Her body stiffened up. The only movement she managed was the blinking of her eyes.

“I believe the lady’s not done yet.”

Sheila and the gentleman sat down at the bar. He waved for the bartender.

“I’ll have what she’s having.”

“Excuse me, do I know you?” Sheila asked.

“Not yet, but you will.”

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

3 thoughts on “The Heart Wants What It Wants”

  1. That is a great descriptive intro! ❤ Nice work, George! I can't tell if Sheila is looking for something new, or if this something new is going to cause some trouble, but you certainly have a neat hook, here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like the way you “dropped” the ending, leaving it to the readers’ imagination; or leaving it open for a new chapter. Regarding the dialog, it’s perfect, I can feel the woman’s feelings as she listens to the man on the other end of her Blackberry. Good job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

