2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: B is for Buses

2015AtoZDay2I’m into Day 2, and already I have a post that may seem out of left field. I guess I should have warned you about that. Some of the posts for the next several days may seem like they come from out of nowhere. But I think that is the beauty of this challenge. You never know what can come out of these blogs.

That being said, let me talk about buses. I find them fascinating because of what can come from them. Buses and the like have set schedules (most of the time), stops they have to make, and an end destination. They go back and forth, back to forth, never straying from the path. And you have passengers and operators that are oblivious to what’s around them. But a good writer looks beyond the mundane and finds jewels amidst the everyday.

I took transit when in college. And I was one of those people who couldn’t find the diamonds in the rough. I’m a little wiser and more observant. To me, what makes these bus rides so fascinating is the plethora of story ideas. While on the buses, stopping at the stations in between, there are people who you can use as archetypes for characters. For example, I met a homeless man who passed out flyers about the second coming of Jesus. Typical homeless behavior, yes, but I’m surprised he had the money to make flyers. I created a story around meeting him. I’ll share the story sometime. The scenery that passes by as you ride these buses and trains is interesting: the urban landscape, the green that gives pop to the gray, the view of the city skyline at sunset. When I took a bus from Atlanta to Baltimore, opportunities for stories flourished throughout.

If there is ever an opportunity to take the bus or any form of mass transit, I highly recommend you do. You never know where your next story idea lies.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

4 thoughts on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: B is for Buses”

  1. I agree that you can grab lots of story ideas on buses, but I am more of a train person myself. I love to ride the train when we are home in Sweden, and that’s where I spot interesting characters and questionable situations that leave me with that “what if” writing prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m late to respond to this post, but I also love watching people and places on public transportation. My favorite place to catch a story idea is an airport. I love thinking about where everyone is going and why.

    Like

Leave a Reply

