2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: D is for Discipline

2015AtoZDay4Today’s subject is one I don’t like to discuss. Something I know I’m sorely lacking. Discipline. To be a writer, like anything worth pursuing, takes discipline and dedication to work toward your goals.

Yesterday, I made the notion that had I made more of an effort to write in high school, I think I would be more confident in my writing. I also noted that things like writing daily, having a schedule, and reading are essential in establishing good writing habits. I didn’t fully envelop into my routine while taking Creative Writing classes. I would write in journals when the assignment called for notebooks to be filled. Most of the time, I would make up things to fill up space, which was a disservice. One reason I “filled up space” was that I didn’t make the time to write. I wasn’t very observant of what was around me. I didn’t read when I wasn’t writing. All these things are important to the writing process. I admit I did not take things as seriously as I should have back then. I think that is why I drifted back and forth in pursuing writing full-time.

The good thing about discipline is that it’s not too late. A week ago, I participated in a Facebook chat about tips for developing good writing routine. We spoke about clearing clutter physically and mentally, creating “writing shifts”, setting time and word count goals. While these habits are good to establish, it takes discipline to push through when you don’t feel like writing. Discipline is the difference between writing as a hobby and writing as a career.

This past year, I made the decision to take this writing journey more seriously. Being disciplined is important. Otherwise, this will be nothing more than another sprint, then a period where I don’t write for a while, and then decide on writing again. It’s a vicious cycle that I want to break.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

6 thoughts on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: D is for Discipline”

  1. I’ve never been good at discipline either, especially in my writing pursuits — despite having tons of ideas. Part of the reason why I joined the A to Z challenge was to develop a sense of discipline to just WRITE no matter what…so far I feel like I’ve just been phoning it in, but I hope that I will continue to stretch myself and learn to set realistic writing goals and stick to them rather than falling into the “vicious cycle” like you said. After not blogging for a while, I think I need this “jump start” to get back into it.

    I’m looking forward to reading more from you! Best of luck with your writing this month!

    Like

    1. Thank you for the encouragement. I took up this challenge for the very reason you said. I’m not good when it comes to deadlines and setting aside times to write. This challenge has helped me plan ahead when I’ve not been able to write the same day.

      In addition to adhering to a schedule and setting aside the time to write something of value, I hope to muster the courage to write what I really want.

      Like

  2. Discipline is so important! It’s something I lack as well. I often get distracted by my mom duties and then the day is over and I’ve written nothing. I’m working on being better about holding myself to a better schedule this year. Good luck to you!

    Like

  3. You’re right about it being never too late! I’ve got much better at it. also, I find having a writing deadline does it for me. Even if it’s right at the last minute discipline, although even there I have improved. I also find having someone to spar with invigorating of discipline – you both write on the same subject, and compare. Of course, you want yours to be better. So you try harder, and for longer. I recommend that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

