2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: F is for Family

2015AtoZDay06Family. The one institution where everyone is a member. There’s the obvious family that we’re born into, with parents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, and cousins. And then there friends who we consider as close as siblings or parents. If you attend a church, you consider people who share the same passion brothers and sisters in the faith. If you’re into sports or in the military, your team is considered a family. And if you’re a writer, you’re part of a family. Fiction or non-fiction, prose or poetry; it doesn’t matter. We all have the same goal: to share our works with the world.

Family comes in many forms, has many definitions, and many ways to say it. No matter how you define it, there’s one word synonymous with family: support. Notice I did not say approval. Approval is fleeting. And not everyone is going to agree with your decision. Instead, we should rally around one another through thick and thin, through good times and bad, through triumph and tragedy. No one is meant to go through life alone. That’s what family is for.

I am fortunate enough to be a member of a number of families. Most “members” know who I am and what I do. And they seem to approve of my choice. Some offer advice on what I should do, to “write what I know.” I know they mean well, but sometimes I have to shake my head.

I don’t always agree with them, but I am glad I have them in my life.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

5 thoughts on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: F is for Family”

  1. “I don’t always agree with them, but I am glad I have them in my life.” That says it all. I’d rather have family to squabble with than celebrate life alone.

    Glad I found you through the A to Z Challenge!

    – Eli @ Coach Daddy (#1257)

    Like

  2. No one is meant to go through life alone. Isn’t that the truth?

    And when we isolate ourselves (even from people we think are annoying), we lose. Being a hermit is not a good thing. Interacting with others forces us to grow and change. We gain encouragement and entertainment, we learn to be kinder, we become less abrasive because we are on the receiving end of criticism. Families are important.

    Happy A to Z!

    Laura

    Like

  3. I cherish my immediate family and as you say, the friends who are like family mean the world to me!

    I used to work as a family therapist however, and I have to say, as you well know, families often can’t agree to disagree and support each other even in their differences. I wish they could and would. One look at our polarized world and families, lets you know we need to do some work in this area! Good read, thanks, Helen

    Like

  4. I’ve always wondered about the remark that good friends are the family we choose. Whilst true, there is no doubting that there are things I would do and go through for family, things I believe that they can ask – nay expect – of me. Maybe I’ve not had friends in my life as long as I’ve had family, what with all the travelling and that has influenced my view. Either way, families matter. So glad you wrote about them – thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

