2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: I is for Introvert

I apologize for not posting yesterday. There was a lot to do yesterday and I was too tired to write. I’m making up for it today. My “J” post is coming later tonight. But, here’s my “I” post. 

2015AtoZDay09So, what do they say about introverts? That you have to watch out for them? That the introverts are going to take over the world? That they cause the most trouble? Say what you will, but I don’t think introverts are all bad. I understand the stigma that correlates, being an introvert myself. And I don’t need a Meyers-Briggs test to tell me what I already know. And I’m not afraid to admit that I do get into trouble because I don’t speak up and I assume a lot. And we all know what happens when we assume, don’t we?

If I may, I want to throw this out. I think all writers are introverts in some fashion. Think about it. We keep our work close to our chests. We’ll lock ourselves in our rooms, writing that perfect paragraph, or do writing sprints. We won’t let anyone in until it’s the right moment. If that’s not being an introvert, I don’t know what is.

But, I don’t believe there is such a thing as being a complete introvert. Some writers have no qualms sharing what they wrote to writers and non-writers alike. Some writers have no problems pitching their books to editors, publishers, whoever. Some writers enjoy the adrenaline rush of a book tour. That’s the kind of writer I want to be.

I think the difference between introverts and extroverts is fear. Now, some people who consider themselves introverts may have a legitimate disorder like depression or social anxiety disorder that keeps them in the dark, if you will. But for most introverts, we’re uncertain about what others may think of ourselves, our work, and our choices. So, we withdraw. But, here’s a little secret: we can’t control what others think. We’ll drive ourselves crazy. That’s something, being an introvert, I have to remind myself of every day. All I can do is control me and make the right decisions for me.

Like anything else, introvert and extrovert is about balance. Writers need qualities of both to function. I think that comes with putting ourselves out there in front of a select few first, and then the world. It takes practice and courage.

 

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

One thought on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: I is for Introvert”

Leave a Reply

