2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: K is for Kids

2015AtoZDay11I thought about talking about my own family in my “F is for Family” post, but I decided against it. I try not to discuss issues involving personal matters. If I do, I try not to name names to protect themselves. If that’s settled, let’s continue.

I never thought I would be the kind of person to settle down and have a family of my own. But wouldn’t you know it, I am. I have two kids of my own; a four-year-old daughter and a five-month-old son. I love them very much. The daughter is very outspoken and energetic, as most four-year-olds are. You can’t get her to slow down. The boy is a curious one, I can tell. He takes in everything with awe and wonder. Most babies do.

So, why am I talking about my kids and what do they have to do with my writing? I think as writers, we have somewhat of a responsibility to leave something worthwhile to the next generation. I don’t think we go into writing with that responsibility laying on our shoulders from day one, but we do wonder whether or not our books will still be read long after we’re gone. We wonder if future generation will be inspired to take up the pen and paper, or laptop, or whatever technology develops for word processing, and follow in our footsteps.

As for me, I want to leave a legacy for my kids through my writing. And it’s not just about the books. Rather, I want to build a legacy of big dreams and courage. I want them to know that I took risks. I stepped outside my comfort zone. I dreamed big. Whether or not those dreams come true and those risks pay off is anyone’s guess. I just want them to know that I tried, and that’s the most important.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

One thought on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: K is for Kids”

Leave a Reply

