2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: L is for Laziness

2015AtoZDay12Here’s a secret. I struggle with being lazy. I’m struggling with it as I’m writing this post. The problem with laziness is that it’s easy to be lazy. It takes hard work if we want anything substantial. The truth of the matter is that we are a lazy generation. I believe some of that is due to technology. Nowadays, everything is just a button push away. I remember having to write down orders before calling in for a delivery. Now, with a few taps of a smartphone, the order’s placed without breaking a sweat. (Ok, bad example, but you get the idea.) I think another reason for our laziness is that we’re about instant gratification. We want something now and aren’t willing to wait. Food, games, clothing. You name it. If we want it, it’s there in a matter of minutes–in some cases–without leaving the house.

Writing is no different. To say otherwise is naïve and foolish. We have to force ourselves to put in the time when we feel like doing something else. The book is not going to write itself. We have to write draft after draft, combing over every page, choosing the right words, selecting which details to add or subtract, and so forth. And it doesn’t stop there. We have to query, find agents and publishers, edit some more, spread the word about your book, work on another project while the other gains steam. And on and on and on.

As I said, there’s a difference between writing as a hobby and writing as a career. It all comes down to the work that’s being put in. I don’t want to look as writing as a hobby. I want to create something my kids can be proud of. I want to say that I did this and I made it work. Otherwise, why bother trying?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

1 thought on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: L is for Laziness”

  1. Ha ha ha, oh man, what a secret. I quietly suspect nearly everyone who has a project finds themselves constantly warring with laziness. And it IS our way of life! A hundred years ago in the place I live, pioneers were spending 95% of their time struggling to survive, and 5% playing music to find some small bit of joy. (As an aside, this is also the ratio used in Harry Potter Movie 7 Part 1, which is why it’s so intolerable…) Now we can accomplish so much more, which is great! But it does make it harder to be motivated.

    Nevertheless, the satisfaction of a project well-done is worth its weight in gold. Thank you for the insight.

    Dan
    =====
    (Temporarily!) Filling in for Author AJ Lauer at April A-Z Challenge

    Like

Leave a Reply

