2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: M is for Music

2015AtoZDay13As I am composing this post, I am streaming light classical music on Pandora. I named the station “Writer’s Radio.”

Early in my writing endeavors, that wasn’t the case. I didn’t see the connection between music and writing. I felt it was too much of a distraction. But I read in blogs about how music played a role in writing. So, I decided to give it a try. I tried many different stations, and I found classical music–the light variety–to be my go-to station. In general, listening to this genre helped calm me. It helped me focus on a task. So, when the time came to work on my stories for college, I would turn on the radio and tune it to the local public radio station, the only station that played classical music throughout the day.

Apps like Pandora, Spotify, and iTune Radio are a godsend. I can’t imagine not listening to music when I write. There’s something about music that stirs the creative juices in just the right way. It awakens the muse who tends to sleep on us. Classical music is my first option in writing, but I experiment with different stations on Pandora, depending on the mood and what I’m writing. I have a station dedicated to Lindsey Stirling, which is quickly becoming a favorite. I have stations featuring gaming scores, film scores, and music meant for relaxation. I’m sure I’ll find more stations to listen to as I expand and continue my writing journey.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

2 thoughts on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: M is for Music”

  1. Utter, complete agreement. I have some soft classical piano music set aside for this purpose in my iTunes playlist. I named the list “Focus.”

    As an aside, Lindsey Stirling is amazing. She’s as close as I’ve ever seen to some mythic fairy taken form as a human woman.

    Dan
    =====
    (Temporarily!) Filling in for Author AJ Lauer at April A-Z Challenge

    Like

Leave a Reply

