2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: N is for Nick Bartleby

2015AtoZDay14I can’t believe I’ve made it halfway through this challenge. I have read and followed some interesting bloggers already. I hope that those who are reading my posts have found them entertaining at least.

So, here’s a little heads-up. With these next two posts, which will probably be very short, I’m giving you glimpses of characters I want to use in future stories. I’ve heard different opinions about divulging details like this, but I want to invite readers to how I write and why I write. That includes character names and situations. I may use them now, or later. I may use the situation I thrust upon them now, or scrap it for something better. Who knows?

When I was in college, I wanted to craft a mystery short story with the main character named “Nick Bartleby.” I really liked Bartleby–named after “Bartleby the Scrivener”–as a last name. The story is about a janitor who witnesses the murder of a young girl in a building across from where he works. He’s conflicted on whether to call the police because it would arouse suspicion because he displays voyeuristic tendencies; spying on her, writing love letters, that sort of thing. Plus, he’s much older than her, which makes it all the more creepy.

I haven’t played much with this story in college. It never made the drafting stage. But, I kept the character in the recesses of my mind if another idea ever came to be. I may still use the original story I thought of, but we’ll see.

Okay, so it’s out there. Let me know what you think in the comments. Should I scrap this story or not? If there are better avenues to take this character, I’m all ears. I value your input.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

One thought on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: N is for Nick Bartleby”

  1. Only you can decide if you want to write the story. However, I understand holding onto characters. Sometimes you connect with a character and either you can’t use them at the time or aren’t sure what to do with them. I think it’s sort of the same with storylines. You have an idea but don’t work on it right away, and yet it lives on inside of you. That’s kind of what happened with the first book I eventually published. I’d been working on it when my dad passed away suddenly. I stopped writing for a VERY long time, not claiming it was solely due to what happened but it played a part. When I finally decided give my writing another go, I was amazed to find that the story and the characters were still very much alive in my head. They’d gone to sleep, entered a sort of suspended animation I guess, and amazingly they woke again when I was ready.

    I now have hundreds or virtual pages of notes (memo to self, back up your phone!!!) and many of those have story ideas and characters that I know I want to come back to. If Nick and his story still ‘talk you’ I say go for it. See where it goes. Maybe you get a little ways in and decide no, not the right story for Nick or maybe you discover WOW, awesome story even better than you’d hope for. Voyeur murder stories can be fun, worked well in Rear Window and Suburbia, just to name a few. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

