2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: O is for Oliver Greene

2015AtoZDay15I mentioned in my last post that I wanted to share a couple of characters that I kept on the backburner. This one is a little more recent. And by recent, I mean after I graduated from college. His name is Oliver Greene.

Oliver Greene is a 22-year-old student who receives a letter from his mother. It says that his father is very ill. She requests that he come down to Newport to visit the family in case the worst happens. He struggles with the decision, as he does not have a good relationship with his father. (Cliché, I know.) He contemplates his choice even after arriving at the bus station. His sister takes him to the hospital and have a somber family reunion.

This is where Mark Twain’s quote makes some sense for me. Recently, I had a relative who passed away. My relationship was good, not great. She loved the family and did whatever she could to make sure we communicated with one another. After her passing, the relatives made a concerted effort to keep in touch. It’s worked so far.

This is another of those stories where I don’t know where to go with it. When I first wrote this story, I wanted him to wrestle with this decision at the bus station, and end it at the station. In another draft, I wanted to focus on the relationships he has with his family while at the hospital. At some point, I thought about combining the two. And yet, I thought about Oliver meeting the family at the home, watching his father tinker and having a conversation with his father before falling ill.

There are so many avenues with this story. I almost gave up on it because I wasn’t sure if I wanted to write it. But a good friend on Twitter told me that stories, like us, have their season. It didn’t feel right writing this story straight out of college. I wasn’t ready to write. At least, not without a plan. So, we’ll see how this turns out in the future.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

Leave a Reply

