2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: S is for Statistics

AtoZDay19Whether we want to admit it or not, we care about statistics. It’s the measuring stick of life. Economy, politics, science, sports, sociology, technology, history. There’s not a facet of our culture climate that doesn’t have a statistic attached to it. It can be a driving force behind what we do and who we are. Think about it. How would corporate big wigs know what the next trend could be if they didn’t pay attention to statistics? They would be chastised for not listening to consumers. Now granted, people, as a whole, are fickle. (Yeah, I said it, so I include myself.) And what the consumer wants doesn’t always transition to the next great idea.

Even in the artistic world, statistics play a role. Why? Before answering that question, the creative side says, “Don’t worry about statistics, focus on your art. Thinking about statistics stifles creativity and nothing will get done.”

Now, statistics can present evidence of interests. It can be used to show a current trend and predict what might come. I’ll use blogging as an example. We check our dashboards to see how many people view our posts and even more, what posts are getting comments. We’re happy if a post receives a certain number of likes and comments and get discouraged if a post falls short of a quota we set for ourselves. But statistics can only do so much. There is no formula that will guarantee success. No one can predict how long a trend will last. Back to blogging as an example. Say a post garners a lot of attention and receives numerous comments. Sure, you can continue to post about the same subject, but the readers will want something fresh.

Statistics, for all its worth, can’t measure everything. It cannot define who we are and what we do. As a new blogger, reading a notification about fifty people following my blog means I must be doing something right. But I shouldn’t let it go to my head. I can improve. And that’s something that cannot be measured.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

2 thoughts on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: S is for Statistics”

  1. I have the feeling that statistics are so important for us new bloggers, they help us be encouraged to continue. Ok sometimes in life statistics will get us down and will discourage us to continue. When I started my blog I had no idea how many people would read, like, comment or follow it, I felt that seen the sheer number of blogs the statistics would not be good for me.
    Have fun with the challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

