2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: V is for Victory

AtoZDay22We all love the thrill of victory. It’s a sign of our hard work paying off. I can’t imagine anyone not being excited after such accomplishments. But not every victory has to be for the big moments. The small steps we take deserve to be celebrated. Big or small, recognizing those victories is important to our psyche. But I think it’s also important that we recognize the failures along the way. No one enjoys them, yes, but even in defeat, there are small victories worth taking away.

Writers are no different. We have moments, big and small, that are worth celebrating. Sure, we celebrate when we our manuscript gets the green light from a publisher, when they become books, and go on to be best sellers. Book tours soon follow and we’re local celebrities. But even if their manuscripts don’t become books right away, just the feeling of completing a manuscript is victory enough. But with some writers, just completing a chapter is a victory of itself. Or, when someone meets their quota of writing 500 words in a day. Or, when a manuscript becomes a book, just feeling the book in their hands, seeing their name on the cover.

Everyone views victory and success in their own way. I feel victory just by writing a page or two a day. Or, when I post something on my blog. This A to Z challenge is a confidence booster. Knowing there are people reading what I wrote, whether it be positive or negative, means I’m writing something worthy of commentary. I haven’t reached the point where I’m ready to produce a manuscript, but I have the feeling that day will come. I focus on short stories right now, and I feel victory when I complete one. Sometimes it takes a day, sometimes a week. But that accomplishment is worth celebrating.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

One thought on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: V is for Victory”

Leave a Reply

