2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: W is for Wired

AtoZDay23Yesterday, I teased on Twitter about starting a new project. I could have done this sooner, but it fell in line with the A to Z posts, I decided to wait. Truth be told, I thought about this even before this blog came into fruition. And to be fair, I can’t take the credit for this one. Beck Gambill and Hazy Shades of Me, two bloggers I follow on WordPress, inspired me. If you haven’t Beck’s “Dixie Lee” stories or Hazy’s “Helena” stories, they are worth the time.

“Wired” is the name of my anthology. (I’m still working on the title, so bear with me.) The story follows Greg Stephens, a 24-year-old techie and his days at the local electronics store he works. The stories chronicle his encounters with customers and employees alike. Nice and mean, old and young, and everywhere in between. He’s also a family man fighting to maintain a balance between life in and out of his career. I’ve begun drafting the first of these stories, with many more to do.

Now, if you’ve followed my blog from the beginning, you know of my goal to produce five short stories by the end of the year. That is still a goal I hope to accomplish outside of this series. This series was not part of the original goals I posted this year. As far as how many stories I will produce this year, I haven’t set a goal on that yet. Maybe I’ll do three to get a feel on how I’m going to tackle this project in the midst of my normal blogging and short stories other than this series. We’ll see what will become of it. In the meantime, I am excited that I get to share the news with you about this series. I look forward to see where this series goes and what encounters will await Mr. Greg Stephens.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

1 thought on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: W is for Wired”

  1. Have you tried some flash fiction? I am completely hooked writing flash fiction by now, no more than 250 words if possible. Well I have the feeling some of my stories will turn into something more over time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

