2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: Y is for Youth

AtoZDay25Youth is a funny thing. When we were young, we wished we were grownup and be able to do whatever we wanted. Now that we’re older, we wish we could be younger. There are all these advances in cosmetics and healthcare to make us look and feel younger. So many companies are making the claim that they’ve discovered the modern-day Fountain of Youth, but it still won’t change the fact that we’re getting older. But hopefully, the old adage will apply: with age comes wisdom.

Still, I would want to travel back in time to my younger years and give my past self some sage advice I’ve heard. The most impactful: focus on your writing. This may be out of guilt or envy, but I think it’s the most vital I would tell my younger self. I know it takes years to get published, but I think developing those habits early in my writing life could save me some trouble. The other piece of advice I would give is be confident in yourself and your work; that rejection is inevitable.

I think those words of wisdom would have been beneficial to my younger self. I’m sure other writers feel the same way. And even though we can’t go back in time without messing with the present, we can pass what we learn to future generations. So, let’s make a difference through the youth of today.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

3 thoughts on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: Y is for Youth”

  1. Huzzah! We’ve made it almost to Z! I hope you had fun, read interesting things, and had lots of visitors!
    There will be an A to Z Reflections round on May 4th with a Linky posted on the main blog http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com
    You may post your reflections on the challenge, visit others, and catch up on the blogs you didn’t have time to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

