2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: Z is for Zeal

AtoZDay26The dictionary defines “zeal” as “great energy or enthusiasm in pursuit of a cause or objective.” It’s encouraging to see someone with zeal for a just cause like the environment or civil rights. But sometimes, zeal can have a negative connotation. People can take their zeal to an extreme and use it to condemn and bash others who don’t share their views on an issue.

Being a writer, it’s hard not to have zeal. When we finish that draft. When we get an agent. When our work is published. When our work creates a voice in the world. There’s a lot to be zealous about in the writing world. Now, I haven’t reached the pinnacle of completing a rough draft of a novel or getting an agent or sending query letters. I feel I still have a long way to go as a writer. But just saying to myself that I am a writer gives me zeal. Writing in my journal gives me joy. Writing posts for my blog is an accomplishment.

The longer I stay on this path and the more I write, the more I’ll feel zealous about writing something that matters, even if it’s for entertainment value.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

5 thoughts on “2015 A to Z Blogging Challenge: Z is for Zeal”

  1. Congratulations on reaching the end of the challenge – and doing so on such a positive and high note. I’m looking forward to dropping in again from time-to-time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

