Month in Review: May

Howdy, howdy, howdy!

I figured I would write something so you wouldn’t think I disappeared from the face of the earth. I’ve kept myself busy this month celebrating the wife’s birthday, mini-vacations, family coming to town. You know? That stuff. I’m sorry I haven’t been around the past month. Allow me to explain:

After completing the A to Z Challenge, I took a break from blogging. Truth be told, I couldn’t find more material to blog about soon after. I guess that is where planning things out come in handy. Now, that’s not to say that I haven’t been writing. I started writing my draft for my new baby, “Wired.” I’m still working on the title, as well as the character name. The name I originally picked out, the MC is screaming to me, “No, no, no, no, no, no. Don’t use that name.” And you have to listen to what your character is saying. You’ll do him an injustice otherwise. So far, there’s the opening “chapter”. More drafts coming though, and soon, the results.

In the meantime, I’m still working on my goal of writing every day. I have to say that I came the closest this month, thanks to a new app I downloaded on my iPhone called “One Day.” The app reminds you to write in your journal, even if it’s just a sentence. Now, some people may not call that writing, especially since people know that I have an actual journal that I write in. But I don’t always carry my journal with me everywhere I go. So I do with what I got. Although, I have an idea to use both to accomplish my writing every day goal.

As far as reading, I started a new book in a new genre. But I am seriously not getting anything out of it. I drift to sleep every time I pick it up. Maybe it’s because there’s too much backstory. I mean, it’s a prequel to a popular series. Maybe it’s because the genre doesn’t interest me like I thought it would. But I’m on the lookout for genres that do. So, we’ll see where the rabbit hole goes as far as my tastes in literature.

Well, that is all for this month. Again, I apologize for this post being the only post for this month. I promise I will do better. I’ll get back to the new post every two weeks. And maybe those posts will include short stories and a chapter or two of my “Wired” anthology. Until then, take care of yourselves.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

2 thoughts on “Month in Review: May”

  1. Finding your blog through the Challenge Road Trip. I felt lost during May with the challenge complete. I feel better now that I have started a summertime series about growing up and recapturing today what summer was once about. Like you, I bet, happier when I am writing. I have a question for you. Never sure if I share my work too early that the energy goes out of it? What do you think? The beginning, the stage you are in, is so fragile. I definitely listen to my characters. In the end, I bet I wrote five or six versions of the first chapter to a novel published in April. Keep going, right! Come and see me if you have gas in your car for a trip to NC on the Road Trip.

    Like

Leave a Reply

