Camp NaNoWriMo: Tackling Writer’s Block

As Rachel eloquently puts it, this month is a struggle for most authors. Every day of every month is a struggle to write, but this month in particular. So Rachel presents writers with suggestions for those struggling with Writer’s Block. Hope they will be of help.

Rachel Bohlen

So, it turns out that this month has not exactly gone the way I anticipated. I’m behind on my word count, and I’ve missed a lot of writing days. I wish I could chalk this up to some easy excuse–working more than usual, personal stress, etc.–but it’s a combination of stress, exhaustion, and just not wanting to write. I’m beginning to wonder if my idea really has the teeth to make it to 50,000 words. So far, I’ve hit a little over 20,000, and I’m not entirely sure where it’s going. That can be good, but I don’t know here. Also, it’s a horror story, and quite frankly, it’s just not scary enough. I need to amp up the fear factor.

That being said, I wanted to take on a common problem for writers: writer’s block. I know some people will try to convince you that writer’s block isn’t real, but…

View original post 627 more words

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

1 thought on “Camp NaNoWriMo: Tackling Writer’s Block”

Leave a Reply

