Month in Review: July

The dog days are summer almost done, thank goodness. At least where I’m at, parents and kids are buying school supplies–which is the equivalent of Christmas to a writer. Normally I would be buying composition books and pens, particularly one type of pen. But I’ve staved the urge this year. I have more pens than I know what to do with and haven’t come anywhere close to filling up a comp book. I know you can’t pass up a good deal but I’m making plans to go on a trip in a couple of months, so it’ll have to wait.

Onward to the check-in.

I’m sure many writers have a copy of Anne Lamott’s “Bird by Bird.” I finally got a chance to buy it for myself. It took me little over a week to read it cover to cover. It is one of the best books about the art and craft of writing I’ve ever read. I quoted a couple of lines from her book on Twitter, though I can’t remember which ones. And I would have highlighted them, but I’m weary of marking books nowadays. When I was in college, I had no problems marking books for notes. It’s interesting how all that changes when you grow up.

Writing-wise, I’m still working on that goal of writing every day. This sounds like an impossible task, and maybe not one worth undertaking. I mean, just because I happen to write every day doesn’t make me any more of a writer. As long as I write, I’m a writer, right? I guess if I decide to do NaNoWriMo, I figured I need to get into the habit. But I don’t do timed writings or set word count goals. Because I don’t have a set work schedule, I make time to write whenever there is opportunity. It could be early in the morning, though I’m not a morning person. It could be on my lunch break, which vary and could depend on whether or not I have to run errands. Or it could be late at night, at which case my brain and body might be too exhausted to form coherent thoughts. Every day is different, so I have to choose wisely.

I know I’ve been teasing readers and fellow bloggers about “Wired.” Rest assured it’s going to happen. I’ve written a couple of drafts, but I’m uncertain on the direction of the stories. I feel I left details out and I feel this need to write a prologue–gasp! I don’t have an order in which I’m telling these stories, except for the first two? I’ll work it out. Oh, and I have a new title for this “anthology,” “The Cell Games.” Kind of clever, eh?

So, that’s July for me. I would love to hear from the blogging populous. How is your writing going? What progress have you made in your writing goals? Did you participate in Camp NaNo? If so, how did you do? Let me know.

Until next time, keep writing.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

3 thoughts on “Month in Review: July”

  1. The school supplies are starting to come out where I live too.
    I like the title The Cell Games. It’s interesting. Good luck with getting it figured out. I’m currently rewriting a story from scratch. I had a first draft, but there were plot holes and trying to rewrite it was causing me to stall. It’s going well and I haven’t looked at the old draft much. Only when there’s a scene I know I want to keep.

    Like

  2. We are also prepping for the start of school over here. And it’s bittersweet for me. I love the long nights of summer and no after-school activities. I feel a constant state of tiredness when sports amp up and tests become a reality again. Writing-wise, I’m mostly editing Little Birdhouses. I’ve been working on a “Woodley Road” story for some time–and am still no closer to a name or a destination. I don’t do Nanowrimo or Nano anything. I signed up for 365k, and I’m failing miserably at it. I love writing, but I do it when I want and I hate keeping a list of word counts. Doesn’t work for me. Other than that I’m sitting around trying to figure out Scrivener. Glad to hear all is well with you! Love the title of the anthology.

    Like

  3. Writing is on hold at the moment while I prep for the course I’m teaching and move into my new townhouse. But I managed to finish a second draft of a story earlier this month, so I’m still happy with my progress.

    I think that just writing when you have time sounds like a good plan, especially if you have a crazy work schedule. Word count goals work for some writers, but not all, and not everybody can say they’ll dedicate three hours a day or whatever to writing. So as long as you’re making progress, that’s what counts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

