Month in Review: August

Hello again.

I don’t know why, but it feels like it’s been months since I’ve written in this blog. I know I posted about breaking my glasses and how disappointed I was not being able to attend the Atlanta Writers Club meeting. I don’t always have a Saturday off of work, but this month I had all Saturdays off, except this past Saturday. Getting a Saturday off that isn’t requested is rare. At my work, they kind of frown upon it, especially with all the major holidays around the corner. If that’s not bad enough, I found out that my car is in need of some repairs. I can still drive it, but some of the repairs need to be done as soon as possible.

It would seem that the powers-that-be don’t want me to attend a writing meeting. But I think if it wasn’t the glasses or the car repairs, I would hold myself back. I guess I don’t have enough confidence in myself and my abilities to let people know I’m a writer. I feel like I missed out on so much because I wasn’t writing on a regular basis. That’s probably why I haven’t posted any short stories on my blog the past few months. That’s why I haven’t started posting my “Cell Games” stories. I suppose I’m waiting for the right moment, but there’s no moment like the present, as they say. I’ve written a couple of drafts and second drafts. I’m currently working on the “Story One” draft. But that’s all I have: drafts. And all of them are handwritten. I haven’t the courage to type out a story and email someone to have him read it and let me know what he thinks; what’s good, what works, what doesn’t, and so on.

I have this complex where I have to have control over everything; that I have to do things to receive other people’s approval. It is exhausting and frustrating. I can’t control what other people think. That’s impossible. And yet, I keep on trying to please other people, and in turn, make myself feel good. Yet I know I can’t please everybody. I’m going to piss somebody off in my lifetime. I already have.

Anyway, back to my check-in. There isn’t much to report. As I mentioned before, I’m working on “Story One” of “The Cell Games.” I need to type out these drafts and send them out so people can read them. The thing about typing out drafts with me is that I have this tendency to edit while drafting. If I want to type something, it has to be the be all and end all. No going back. But that’s probably why my writing has suffered and why I haven’t written much over the years. That needs to change. It will take time to rid myself of that mindset, but I will.

As for the rest of my goals, I’ve added books to my to-read list. I found a book I read years ago for a class. Now I’m reading for entertainment value and maybe pick up techniques on writing with accents and broken English. Getting into the habit of writing every day is becoming more of a chore than anything else. I “write” in my One Day app on my phone, even if it’s a sentence or two, which is funny since I just mentioned that I don’t type out drafts or journal entries. As for writing groups, I have two: the Atlanta Writers Club, which I’ve know for a while. I was all ready to attend my first meeting, but couldn’t because of the glasses. The second, Ten-Minute Novelists, an online group. Sometimes, I don’t consider it a writing group, but am promptly reminded. So you could say I accomplished that goal.

So, that is all for now. By the way, I should mention that I am making some changes to this blog in the immediate future. Most of them are subtle, like changing my “About” and “Home” pages. Now that I’ve had this blog for over six months, it’s about time I change some things. The blog itself might get a new theme. I’m still playing with those. In the meantime, take care and keep on writing.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

8 thoughts on “Month in Review: August”

  1. Once you get that draft typed up, send it on to me! I’d be willing to read it. I used to have a hard time letting go of control too, until I felt like it was ruining my life. Four years ago, I made changes, let people start reading my work, and I realized time kept ticking on and I was doing what made me happy. Do what makes you happy! You GOT this! Love the changes to the about page and home pages, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely get it typed and out! Dreams are only frustrations if you don’t act on them. I write historical fiction, so I’m not sure I could help with your theme, etc, but I am a grammar nerd, so if you’d like me to take a pass at that, I’m all for it! I’ve had many very generous people helping me along my way, and I’d love to pass it on.

    Like

  3. Thank you, Lauren. It helps to have people who are willing to read my work. I feel like there’s so much I missed out on over the years. Writing styles evolved, and so have storytellers. I feel I’m so set in my ways of telling a story. I don’t do a lot of fluff, but I feel my writing suffers because it doesn’t flow. But it’s good to know there are people who want to help me out.

    Like

  4. If you’re having trouble controlling your inner editor while you type, you may want to consider just taking some clean photos of your handwritten pages and sending them off to folks. You’ll be emailing anyway, so readers will have access to a browser or other program that will let them read even an image file. Savvy folks who want a hardcopy will drop the photos into a Word or other Office document, just like if you’d sent them a Word file to begin with.

    I wholeheartedly recommend and support the idea of reading for fun in order to learn. Sometimes, our own writers will pick up on tricks or stumbling blocks, but mostly I think we absorb more when we allow our front brains to shut down and just enjoy a story.

    Good luck!

    Like

    1. I never thought about emailing my handwritten stuff. I suppose it would be easier because I have such trepidation when it comes to typing out my drafts. At the same time, the whole purpose of downloading word processing software is so I can have a hard copy. A backup, if you will. And whose to say that I won’t make changes in between. My drafts won’t be the same, but maybe that’s a good thing. I read somewhere that you should write your supplemental drafts as if they were your first draft. So, I think it’s a matter of finding time to write it out.

      As far as the reading goes, I’m ashamed to say that I didn’t read much for fun. That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy some of the books, but I could have gotten more out of them if I didn’t focus so much on what I had to pluck in order to get a passing grade. Furthermore, there are so many books and authors I haven’t read. Classics from Steinbeck and Austen. I feel like I missed out on so many books. I suppose that’s why e-readers were invented. But there’s nothing like the feel of a book in your hand.

      P. S. That’s my next blog topic.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am with you on physical books! Honestly, I’ve bought a few e-books because that’s the only way a title is published…but it takes me 5 times as long to get around to reading it. I spend so much time at work looking at a screen, I really don’t want to do that for my pleasure reading. Looking forward to your next update! 🙂

        Like

  5. I always think of that quote, “Perfect is the enemy of good.” I would take some time to type up one story and send it to a few people. Just start with one of your stories for now and go from there. I’d consider that your next step. I know it’s hard, but you will grow so much as a writer by getting that feedback and starting to revise.

    Best of luck and happy writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

