Month in Review: October

As I’m writing this post, NaNoWriMo is up and running. And no, I’m not participating in it this year. When the time is right, I will. But for now, I’m content with cheering from the sidelines. At the same time, I will try to write every day this month in an attempt to develop good writing habits. Whether it’s a blog post, a journal entry, or a story. Good writing habits are essential, especially in the case of NaNo to meet that 50,000 word count goal. I feel like I’m not at that point yet.

So, there goes my NaNo goal I made earlier this year. Speaking of which, this year feels like it’s going fast. This month was particularly busy with attending a “family reunion,” being a guest at my wife’s school reunion, and in the last two days, celebrating my daughter’s birthday. And in two days, it will be my younger son’s birthday. But we’re throwing a party for both of them in two weeks. And, of course, there’s Thanksgiving and Black Friday. So, November is shaping up to be a busy month, too.

In the last two posts, I talked about how much of a writing funk I’m in. One person suggested that NaNo might be the spark I need. I won’t bother with the details; you can read them when you get a chance. Well, there’s no progress. I have submitted another story to my writing friend, Lauren Greene. She, as well as several others, have encouraged me to keep writing and not get discouraged. I certainly don’t want to disappoint them, but I have to do what’s best for me. Even if that means taking a break from writing. The problem with that is that it may take months before I pick up the pen again, and I certainly don’t want to reach that point. It’s hard to pick up where you left off. So, no more of that.

My “Cell Games” series is still in development. I may take a break from it until I get the stories in order of how I want to present them. In the meantime, I do have other stories I want to write; stories I have saved in my notebook. Regardless of the story, it would be too long for a regular blog post. A blogger I follow, Mayumi, looks to have the right idea; posting links to PDF files. I just wonder if the links will work.

Well, that’s all that happened this past month. As I said, I plan to write every day in the spirit of NaNo. I know it’s not the same as participating in NaNo itself, but it’s all I can do.

What about you? Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? Why or why not? Do you write every day regardless? What are some habits or rituals you follow before you write? Let me know in the comments. 

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

4 thoughts on “Month in Review: October”

  1. I’m not doing NaNo this year, either, George – no ready story idea in time. I will admit I’ll miss the rush of excitement the event brings, but there are just too many pots on the stove, at the moment.

    Those good writing habits are the real point of NaNo, but, sometimes, the good intentions can get lost in the rush to the finish line. After all, writing well is in the long run better than writing a lot: quality over quantity. Holding yourself to a goal to write a little bit every day (or as often as you can) is keeping the spirit of NaNo, even if you’re not officially participating. Those ~1700 words per day can take a lot out of a person, anyway!

    Good luck with your busy month, including the writing!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Mayumi. In the last couple of years, though I don’t officially participate in NaNo, I try to write every day of the month just to say that it’s possible. And every year, I fall short of meeting that goal. But I shouldn’t be solely reliant on this month to develop good writing habits. I get that. But I feel if I actually do NaNo, I can take comfort in the fact that I can write every day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

