What I’m Thankful For

My family has a tradition on Thanksgiving Day. As we pray over the food, each member of the family names one thing they are thankful for. For this post, I am going to name five things. These are in no particular order, so here goes:

  1. God. I make no qualms about my faith. Although I don’t talk about religion much, it should be noted that I am a man of God. Granted, I am not a saint, but I try to live by His principles as bet I can. I believe God blessed me with a talent and passion to write, among other things.Without God, I wouldn’t have the family I have, the job I have, my health, my friends, or my writing. I owe everything to Him. The best I can do is to do my best to follow the examples of those way before I came along. 
  2. Family. Next to God, family is just as important. Without the support of my family, I don’t know where I would be. They’ve seen my best and worst. They’ve read my best and worst, which may not be saying much. But I know I can count on them to be honest in what they think of my work. 
  3. My Job. As much as I gripe about some of the work I do and the schedule I have, I am glad I have a job that pays well. It’s not the ideal job, but these days, you have to take what you can get. Besides, I’ve been with my company eleven years. Some may say I’m a glutton for punishment, but I don’t. I’d like to believe that there are always people who need help with what’s going on in the world of technology and home entertainment. Call it job security. 
  4. Writing. These last two go hand-in-hand, and shouldn’t be any surprise. That being said, I am grateful I have my writing. It’s the one thing that keeps me grounded, and at the same time, allows me to be free. Like most creative outlets, writing allows me to express myself when the words don’t come out of the mouth as fluently as they should. I feel at peace putting pen to paper, or filling a blank screen with words. It brings me joy. 
  5. Project Blacklight. This blog is my pride and joy. I enjoy writing posts, sharing what I’ve learned. (At some point, I will put those lessons into practice with the stories I will post.) Through this blog, I discovered a community of fellow writers and bloggers with similar struggles and aspirations.  There are writers who have published books under their belt; some are like me, just starting out with the dream to one day write a novel. They’re everywhere. Without this blog, I wouldn’t have found them. 

Outside of Thanksgiving, it’s easy to forget the things we’re thankful for. It’s easy to take them for granted. But I would encourage you all to take not just today, but every day, think about what you do have, not focus on what you don’t. 

Happy Thanksgiving!

    Author: G. R. McNeese

    I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

    One thought on “What I’m Thankful For”

    Leave a Reply

    