Month in Review: November

By about this time tomorrow, another year of NaNo will be in the books. Some will cheer and some will bow their heads in shame. And even among the victorious, there will be those who don’t feel that sense of accomplishment. And there is a percentage of the writing populous that will regret not participating in NaNo. I fall into that category. One of my goals this year was to participate in NaNoWriMo, just to say that I attempted to write 50,000 words. I gave the excuse of, “I don’t have an idea that I can turn into a novel.” Another being, “I’m too busy with work and family to write every day.” (There’s some truth in that last statement.) I think the truth is I didn’t want the letdown of knowing that I failed to meet that goal. That’s probably the ego making the decisions for me. Or, maybe that’s fear. I don’t know.

So, in the spirit of NaNo, I decided that I was going to attempt to write every day, whether it be in my journal or writing an actual story. Let me just say that for me, writing every day is hard. What makes it hard is that I don’t have a set time to write during the day, and that can be a pitfall when doing as great a task as NaNo. Unfortunately, I don’t value the free time I have away from my job and family like I should, which can be as frustrating. The other reason that I failed to write every day is that I ran out of things to say, and not every idea I have can flesh itself out into a story or journal entry. But even then, I could have written the dribble that were my ideas. Maybe…just maybe, one of those ideas could manifest into a story if given the time and patience. I will say that the one positive I took is that I started drafting a story I worked on months ago. I’m still writing it out, trying to silence the inner critic in me. Hopefully, with the help of my CP, I can post this story.

So as we approach the end of the year, I will be spending some time on generating new blog ideas for the upcoming year. I’ll be crafting new stories to post on my blog, which I know I promised you, but haven’t fulfilled. I’ll be looking at new goals I want to go after next year. So, blog posts will be far and few most likely, unless I get a spark of inspiration somewhere. In the meantime, I’ll be shopping around for an ugly sweater for a Christmas party, try to wrangle the kids to get them to sit still for a picture with Santa, and maybe wrap a gift or two. (Who am I kidding? I’ll stuff them in bags.)

Until then, have a good day. 

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

3 thoughts on “Month in Review: November”

  1. Looking for an ugly sweater, wrangling kids for Santa photos, and finding time to wrap gifts all sound like neat jumping-off points for little stories, George. You never know where those tidbits may take you.

    No worries for NaNo. While you may not have been able to check that box for your goals, the important part to remember is to keep writing. If you can, find a regular time of day to jot down ideas, dialogue, or even just a sentence or two. You may want to start out with a right-before-bed or right-when-you-wake-up routine. (The routine part helps a lot.) I have a train commute, so that’s my set-aside time every day to write, but you may need to drive. A friend of mine uses her phone to record story messages to herself while she’s driving, but that’s kind of dangerous. 🙂 If you have a job where you’re in front of a computer or your email, try jotting down or even emailing yourself a one-sentence idea during a break. Even if it’s something quick and simple, keeping those ideas can be helpful for when you do get the chance to sit down at length.

    Like

  2. Like you, I didn’t attempt NaNo. I just didn’t think I could balance it with teaching and the near the end-of-the-semester craziness that tends to begin around late November. Kudos for the attempt to write every day. It sounds easy, but it takes a tremendous amount of discipline, even if you’re only writing a few hundred words a day. Sitting down at the page can actually be the hardest part.

    I hope you’re having a wonderful holiday season. Have a good week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

