Room to Grow: 2015 Year in Review

Well, 2015 is almost in our rear view window. I can’t believe it’s gone by so fast. At least, it feels like it’s flown by. Maybe it’s because I am older. Or, maybe it’s because my time is divided among work and family. Who knows?

In spite of all that’s happened in my personal life, I feel as if 2015 was my best year as a writer, which is saying a lot. Let me explain. Up until last year, I wasn’t the most disciplined writer. (It’s still a struggle.) I would go months without writing and not care. Last year, I made a conscious decision to take my writing to the next level. That meant writing more stories and finding a writing group. I found two groups on Facebook and connected with fellow writers on Twitter. But I needed to do more. I was writing, but I needed some way to show it off. That’s where Project Blacklight comes in. For months, I researched and read other blogs, debating whether or not this was the right platform to showcase my work. By year’s end, I made the jump, and haven’t looked back.

So, fast forward to the present. It’s been almost a year since I started Project Blacklight. I couldn’t be happier. It’s been a great avenue to not only post stories, but to give people insight as to who I am and what I do when I’m not writing. I accumulated a healthy following. Plus, I found fellow bloggers with the same passion. I found a home.

I feel like this year has been a year of growth and revelation. This blog is a small step to a greater purpose. In addition, I overcame a debilitating fear: typing out my drafts. For years, I wrote drafts on pen and paper, knowing that they wouldn’t see the light of day; that only a few privileged people would see them. But in order to be a better writer, as one Twitterite said to me, I had to be willing to show them to other writers to critique. I knew this, but I was scared. Being able to write on a computer may not seem like a big deal to most writers, but it was to me. I was so afraid of putting my stories on a white screen. That’s what happens when your inner critic is sitting next to you. One day, I made a conscious decision to say, “Get behind me, critic.” I wanted to be a better writer. I wanted to know what other writers thought of my work. So, I did, and found a fellow blogger willing to look over my work. A wave of confidence swept over me. It was exhilarating. I felt free.

Someone once said that we stop living when we stop learning. 2015, in a nutshell, was a year for growth and a time of learning as a writer. And I believe 2016 will be a year where my maturing as a writer will continue. I have more stories that await me to put on the blank screen. Somewhere in the hidden recesses of my mind lies an idea for a novel. It’s just a matter of exploring.

So, here’s to a great 2015, and high hopes for 2016. Cheers, and I’ll see you next year!

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

5 thoughts on “Room to Grow: 2015 Year in Review”

  1. I didn’t realize you were so new to the blogosphere. Your writing is appealing to me, being concise without missing what should be ‘said’. I wish you even more gain in your writing development during this coming year.

    Like

  2. Hi George. Good to know 2015 has been doing you good. WordPress is such a great place for writers. Still, if you are serious (I guess you are), you might like to check Scribophile as well. It’s one critique heaven. 🙂 Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

