The Joy of Overcoming Fear

Originally, I was going to write a post about my birthday weekend, which was fun. I had a great time having brunch with family, which included a key lime pie for a birthday cake. But there is something else I wish to discuss.

Earlier this week on a Twitter chat, the 10-Minute Novelists group talked about what holds writers back from doing what we love. There was one overlying theme:fear. More specifically, fear of failure. I talked about this with the group and how much I compare myself to other writers; writers who are more successful than I am, and how I feel like I won’t measure up. This has been a lingering issue with me. That’s probably why I haven’t written as much as I should. Or why I haven’t written a novel. Or why I haven’t posted any of the stories I promised on this blog. It is debilitating and, what I realized, counterproductive.

Then, Katharine Grubb, the group’s mediator, posted on the 10-Minute Novelists Facebook page, encouraging writers to share their successes and “punching fear in the face.” She listed examples of writers and their successes and she happened to mention me and my blog.  Many members chimed in on their successes. I read them and felt connected to them.

Katharine was right. I have come a long way in my writing journey in the span of a year. I have received a valuable attribute: confidence. Thanks to fellow members and people I follow on Twitter, I have confidence in who I am as a writer. I have this blog, which I never thought I could do. I am now sharing my work with fellow writers; works I kept in my notebook for so long. I can claim to be a writer after teetering with it for so many years.

I may not be a published author, or have works worthy of querying. But it doesn’t matter. It shouldn’t matter what others do or have done. No one but me is walking my path. How I define success is different from everyone else. What I write about is different from everyone else. At the end of the day, what matters is that I do what I love. And that’s write.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

1 thought on “The Joy of Overcoming Fear”

Leave a Reply

