2016 A to Z Challenge: Throwing My Hat into the Ring

Last year, when this blog was starting to take off, some Twitter friends convinced me to participate in something called the A to Z Challenge. I had my doubts that I could pull off something like coming up with an entry for every letter of the alphabet. Let alone write entries that would be of interest to anyone. But it turned out to be one of the best things I could have done. I gained some supporters, and in turn, discovered blogs with similar interests as I, writing and otherwise.

So, I decided to throw my blog into the challenge this year. This will be my second go-around. As before, I’m doing entries based around my writing journey. I will share experiences, lessons learned, that sort of thing.

I will say that this year will be more of a “challenge.” As it stands, I have less than two months to come up with a new set of topics. That’s proving to be more difficult. Not that last year was a walk in the park. I switched topics at the last minute on some letters. And I didn’t have a clear plan on what I was going to write about on some of my entries. In layman’s terms, I winged it. This year, I’m going to make more of an effort to stick to a topic and create bullet points for what I want to discuss.

If someone told me last year that I would be doing this A to Z Challenge, I would have said, “You’re crazy.” I think that was my inner critic, who always seems to stir up trouble. But at some point, you learn to stuff a sock in his mouth and do something crazy. And I’m glad I did. My experience in the A to Z Challenge taught me to believe in myself and believe in what I do.

Here’s to another successful run. 

What about you? Are you going to participate in the challenge? Why or why not?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

7 thoughts on “2016 A to Z Challenge: Throwing My Hat into the Ring”

  1. I wish you luck in this blogging project. I won’t be getting involved in it though. I never have. I don’t realistically think I could handle it seeing that I type with one hand. Whatever I write takes me twice as long, which means I need more time to edit. Nah, way too stressful.

    Like

  2. I’m thinking about it. When do we have to sign up? I feel overwhelmed this year, since I’m training for a half-marathon that’s the last week in April too. But, if I could get ahead and schedule myself then I may do it! I’m happy you’re going for it again this year!

    Like

    1. Signup began a couple of weeks ago, back in January. What you do is go to a-to-zchallenge.com. There will be a post for registering your blog. You also have to tell what content will be on your blog. They give initials, so don’t worry.

      I hope you do it. I understand if you can’t.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for posting on this, G. R.! This will be my first time and reading your post eased my mind. I might be over-complicating it and now I’ve jumped in …… sink or swim. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

