2016 A to Z Challenge: A is for Authenticity 

2016AtoZDay01

Before I begin, I have to say that coming up with topics for this year’s challenge was more difficult than expected. I had to turn to fellow writers and bloggers on Twitter and Facebook to generate suggestions. And I am thankful that I have the writing community to back me up on this year’s endeavor. So, for this first post, I want to thank Twitter friend Andrea Huelsenbeck for suggesting this topic. Now, let’s begin.

Throughout the writing world, we throw around the word ‘authenticity;’ the genuineness of something or someone, not being fake. We mostly correlate it to writing dialogue. We try to think about how our characters might have conversations with one another, and try to write them out to make them sound not so wooden and flat. We include actions and expressions to give our characters emotion as they speak.

I think the term ‘authenticity’ can include more than just dialogue. I think our works overall must have a sense of authenticity. While this is true of nonfiction, I think we can expand it to fiction. What I mean is that how we create our worlds, describe our characters, and determine what they say must have a sense of genuineness. I think back to a story I wrote way back in my writing infancy. Long story short, it was nowhere close to being authentic.

I think authenticity is a big deal. Readers can tell whether or not your work is real and genuine. While most stories aren’t necessarily original, how you tell a story can make or break you.

What say you? Do you think authenticity is a big deal?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

9 thoughts on “2016 A to Z Challenge: A is for Authenticity ”

  1. Authenticity is who you, your true self, pure awareness. I do a lot of meditation and this is where authenticity kicks in at full tilt, well for me at least – LOL.
    I really enjoyed your post and I look forward to the A to Z challenge!

    Like

  2. Hmm.. It depends how authentic the universe and characters created seem to me. After than I’ll probably believe anything I read. You got me thinking and that’s good. Well done for being prescheduled. I’m not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

