2016 A to Z Challenge: C is for “Cell Games”

2016AtoZDay03

I’ve shared on this blog many times before about a short story anthology I want to post on my blog. I even talked about this on last year’s A to Z Challenge. At first, I named the anthology, “Wired.” But after much deliberation and playing around, I changed the name of the series to, “The Cell Games.”

As I shared before, I read short story anthologies from bloggers I follow, and they inspired me to create a series that showcased my talents as a writer. Kind of like having a portfolio.

The series follow Lee Stephens, a new hire at an independent cell phone retailer, Prime Wireless. The stories revolve around his many encounters with customers and associates alike, as well as peek into his personal life.

A lot of these stories, I base around my experience working in retail, selling cell phones. I created a Pinterest board, pasting current phones on the market. For obvious reasons, the names are changed. I also pasted people that are closely relative to my characters. I’m still reaearching those characters as the stories gain more traction.

As it stands right now, I have three drafts down. I would like to have critiques on them before I post them. I guess I’m OCD when it comes to my stories. I want them to be the best they can be. I understand, though, that there are people who are not going to like them, and that’s fine.

Like “Blossom” before, the ” Cell Games” will be my pride and joy. Every story is special in its own right, and this series will be no different.

What about you? Is there a series that you’ve read or written that holds a special place for you?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

4 thoughts on “2016 A to Z Challenge: C is for “Cell Games””

    1. Thank you, Patricia. I must admit that I am obsessed with getting this right. I’ve passed snippets of my stories along to critique partners. I’m stuck on the beginning of my third one. And I still feel like the character is all wrong. I don’t understand what’s going on.

      Like

  1. I’m a little OCD too but more with tweaking what I’ve already posted. I aim for 1 draft and 3 pre-post revies/edits otherwise I’ll just keep playing with them

    Like

  2. I think all writers feel that if they look at their book one more time, they can fix this or that. At one point you have to just hand it off to someone else, either to critique or publish.

    Heather M. Gardner / @hmgardner
    Co-Host, Blogging from A to Z April Challenge
    The Waiting is the Hardest Part

    Like

Leave a Reply

