2016 A to Z Challenge: D is for Death

2016AtoZDay04

I’m not a big fan of death. Then again, who is? It’s a disturbing subject. But I think a necessary one, especially when it comes to writing. Death scenes, like action scenes or kissing scenes, can be tricky to write. They have to be done the right way. I think there has to be some research involved, no matter the nature of the scene.

I wrote a section of a story where the MC expresses his disgust toward his family and a subsequent death scene where he runs a shard of glass through himself.

I had not written a death scene before, so maybe the interaction between the characters was a little too drawn out, as well as the death scene itself. I should have thought about the mindset of the character as he was wrestling with his thoughts before decided to off himself.

I find death scenes to be a challenge. And I’m sure it won’t be the first time.

What say you? How do you feel about death scenes? Are they easy or difficult to write?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

7 thoughts on “2016 A to Z Challenge: D is for Death”

  1. Death scenes in writing can feel like a necessary evil. You hate to kill of the character, but it needs to be done. The biggest struggle I have with them is making them emotional enough. I always find it good if while I’m writing them to make myself feel what I want the readers to feel. If I can do that then the person reading should too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some death scenes are harder than others and they should be. Death is a normal process of life but unnatural or untimely death tends to be harder to deal with. Then there is the decision of how much detail to share, how graphic the scene needs to be. Death is rarely easy, in life or in fiction. Great topic.

    Like

  3. I don’t mind writing about death scenes. Sometimes, what I do is to watch a dramatic programme on television – Bollywood movies are a good example. Then, I observe the death scenes there and this helps. When I write, I try to imagine what I could have done better or worse.

    Like

Leave a Reply

