2016 A to Z Challenge: E is for Exercise

2016AtoZDay05

Last year, I shared my opinion about being in good health in all facets. This year, I’m going to be more specific.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been reading posts on exercising and how it’s beneficial to writers. A writer I used to follow on Twitter sends tweets about stepping away from the keyboard and taking walks. A blogger I follow on WordPress, Lauren Greene, posted about training and running.

Exercise, as everybody knows, is good for the brain, as well as the body. It stimulates nerves, grants you more energy, makes your mind sharper, allows you to be more creative and analytical. As writers, we need that stimulation. I know I do.

I haven’t been to a gym in years. I wasn’t going regularly and the fees got crazy expensive. Unfortunately, my mind and my body suffered. So now, I’m trying to get an exercise plan together without the expense of a gym. I created a Pinterest board for exercise routines without equipment. I have yet to implement these plans. I need to start.

What about you? Is exercise part of your daily routine?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

7 thoughts on “2016 A to Z Challenge: E is for Exercise”

  1. Yes! I take my camera with me on walks, so I’m always motivated. And I folk dance twice a week. And I go to the gym (I was lucky to lock into a ridiculously low rate years ago).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not a fan of a gym, and when I lived in Ireland, I had limited opportunities to exercise outside (no parks, no nice walking spaces, and horrible weather most of the times) and inside (small, cold, and damp apartments), but now, since I moved over to Arizona, exercise is a part of my daily routine. I started with as little as 5 minutes, now, after a month, I’m up to 45 minutes of exercising.

    Like

  3. Haruki Murakami wrote about his passion for running (long distance) in his book “What I talk about when I talk about running” – yes, it is a nod to Raymond Carver’s “What we talk about when we talk about love”. He does one marathon per year and believes that it keeps him fit enough to write at such length. It certainly gave me cause to think.

    Debs Carey
    http://www.bunnyandthebloke.com
    @debscaringcoach
    http://www.caringcoaching.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

