2016 A to Z Challenge: F is for Freelancing

2016AtoZDay06

Freelancing is something I’ve never done or thought about doing. Recently, I’ve had conversations with my cousin on supplementing my income. She says freelancing is the way to go. It piqued my interest. Outside of writing books, I’ve been trying to figure out what I could use my degree for. This might an avenue worth exploring.

Freelancing, from what I hear, can be difficult. You really can’t afford to be picky. In addition, you have to make sure you get paid for the work you put in. Some pay per word; some pay per job. I’ll definitely have to do more research on the subject.

What about you? What’s your experience with freelancing? Did it help or hinder your writing?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

4 thoughts on “2016 A to Z Challenge: F is for Freelancing”

  1. I’ve thought about freelancing but the thought of having to deal with people, go find clients, etc turned me off of the idea. It sounded like a whole lot of investment for very little return but I do know of some people who make a living doing nothing but freelancing. I would recommend checking out AWAI for more information on freelancing.

    Like

  2. I’ve hired a few freelancer. It can be a good paying job, but you usually have to start out lowballing in order to get customers or barter in exchange for a testimony. But once you get established, you can charge more (but I’ve also seen freelancer grandfather former customers. Like giving them a bonus for taking a chance on them.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

