2016 A to Z Challenge: H is for Home

2016AtoZDay08

Today’s subject is about houses, and I don’t mean publishing houses. No, today is about the houses we live in. Our homes. It can also be a condo, an apartment, a trailer park, or a mansion (if you’re lucky). Whatever the case, we writers have to maintain it just as we should anything that’s important. For many of us, our home is our writing space. It will either be the kitchen, or the bedroom, or the living room. In any case, it needs to be maintained to achieve harmony in our writing.

It’s all about organization. My wife says everything has a place. Designating those spots is key to having a zen-like writing environment. It’s also important to find a space that you feel most comfortable and is the most productive for writing. For me, that’s the kitchen. It’s close to the refrigerator, so I can grab a beverage with little wasted movement. And it’s close to the patio, so I can take my laptop or notebook with me and write outside. Now, if I had things my way, I would have a studio overlooking the city, and my writing desk would sit right beside my bedroom window. For now, I’ll settle for the kitchen.

What about you? Where is your ideal writing space in your home? Where is your ideal writing space, period?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

6 thoughts on “2016 A to Z Challenge: H is for Home”

  1. At home it’s the main table in the living room. When I was in university it was the library, or my bed. I also enjoy writing in cafés but at the moment with a young child that one cannot really be done.

    Like

  2. I write best where there aren’t distractions or noise. I like the coffee shop, but it is often too noisy. I like our big table in the living room before the kids are up the best. A little room where I could face a wall and shut the door would be the winner, though. 🙂

    Like

  3. I have a large desk in my bedroom, which is actually the former living room of my childhood home (long story *laughs*). It is at the front of the house and I can open the front door and look outside or go out onto the big front porch and work there. Ideally, I would have my own writing studio with a HUGE bay window overlooking the sea off of coastal Maine… I dream big when I dream.
    Many Blessings,
    Lori

    My A2Zs @ As the Fates Would Have It & Promptly Written
    Follow Me (Ravyne) Twitter|Facebook

    Like

Leave a Reply

