2016 A to Z Challenge: P is for Passion

2016AtoZDay16

Passion is one of those things where you either have it or you don’t. There’s not a lot of wiggle room. It’s not one of those things where you can flip a switch and turn it on whenever you want. When you’re passionate about something, it’s all you can think about, even in your sleep. Passion takes time to nurture, but can be easily lost. But you can gain it back by reminding yourself what made you so passionate about something and doing those things that nurtured your passion in the first place.

I think being an artist in general, it can be easy to lose your passion. When faced with criticism, inevitable rejection, creative blocks, it’s tempting to give up. I know that when I first began writing, I got spoiled by the praises of my classmates. I didn’t fully understand what made my work good. I rested on my laurels too much. So when I got to college, I didn’t nurture the discipline necessary to sustain writing through the hard times. It lead to moments where I lost my passion for writing. And that to long periods of time where I didn’t write anything. And whenever I did, my heart wasn’t into it.

But one day, I made a conscious decision to start writing again, not worrying about what others might think. I have to say that if not for my wife encouraging me to write, all my writing notebooks would have probably be incinerated by now. So, I wrote, little pockets of time as I could muster. I started following writing blogs, joined Twitter, and started my own blog to get my juices flowing. I gained a passion for writing I never really had before.

What about you? Have you ever lost your passion? How did you gain it back?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

2 thoughts on “2016 A to Z Challenge: P is for Passion”

  1. George – love this post. You’re so right about passion. I’m glad you found a path back to it. I know at times, it doesn’t feel like you’ll get there, but every day is a step closer.

    I’ve never lost my passion for writing. I have, however, been robbed of the heart to do it. Some heartbreak is enough to squelch your words, too. But you find a way out. For me, writing wasn’t the reward for getting out.

    it was the rope I used to climb out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

