2016 A to Z Challenge: Q is for Qualifications

2016AtoZDay17

What qualifies someone to be a writer? Writing every day? Taking a course? A degree in Creative Writing? A bestseller? There’s a lot to be said about being a writer. It’s not easy, by any stretch. But the assumption is that being a writer, especially a best-selling writer, needs to meet certain qualifications. I’m here to tell you that’s not the case.

One assumption is if you’re not writing every day, you can’t call yourself a writer. If that were the case, probably less than 20% of those who write could truly call themselves writers.

Another assumption is that you have to complete a Creative Writing course and get a degree. I got a degree in Creative Writing, and have nothing with it. No books, no manuscripts, nothing. Even as I’m writing this post, my degree is still in its mailing tube.

Some say having a bestseller qualifies you being, especially a best-selling writer.  I know people who have manuscripts that they are querying and submitting to agents. And even if the book is published and placed in bookshops, there’s no guarantee that it will be a hit.

Writing every day, completing a Creative Degree curriculum, and having a bestseller certainly goes a long way to being a writer. But not having them doesn’t mean you’re not qualified to be a writer. A fellow writer and blogger, Ava Jae, reminds us that being a writer doesn’t mean having the accolades that come from writing every day; it comes from getting out there and write.

What say you? Do you feel the need to be qualified to be a writer? 

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

5 thoughts on “2016 A to Z Challenge: Q is for Qualifications”

  1. George, I absolutely am a qualified writer. And my qualification is that I write every day. The definition of “writer” is “one who writes.” So, I’m disregarding your second paragraph.

    Like

    1. Fair enough. I brought it up because I don’t write every day, and a lot of people believe you have to write every day to call yourself a writer. However, I’ve heard the other side of the argument that says you don’t have to write every day. In either case, you’re right. As long as you write, you can claim the title of writer.

      Like

  2. I think there is a distinction between writer and author. Every author is a writer but unpublished writers are n or authors. In that sense, anyone who puts pen to paper in a creative endeavor is a writer, to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

