2016 A to Z Challenge: U is for Unplugged

2016AtoZDay21

These days, it’s so easy to be glued to our devices. We live in a world where we have to be conn cited to everything and everyone. Our friends, our family, our pets, everything. The world is constantly changing and there’s this need to be there as it happens. Devices like smartphones, tablets, and game systems allow us to be everywhere at once. But because of this need to know what’s going on at all times, there’s a disconnect with what’s going on right in front of us. Our families demand our attention; to be proactive in their lives. It’s sad that in this world where we’re connected to everything, we’re actually not connected to everything.

A lot of concerned parents and professors are flavoring people to unplug once a week. To really get to know and understand the world around them. I think writers need to take advantage of this, as well. It’s easy to get distracted with the emails flowing in and the social media that revolves around our “busy” lives. I think putting the devices away and to take in the world as it is would be beneficial to writing. I know I struggle with the distractions of technology. It does nothing to break the writer’s block that’s going on. If I was to put away the gadgets, including my laptop, and write with paper and pen, it would mean so much to my writing. The connection could be restored between me and my work. It would evolve to a deeper relationship.

What about you? How do you think being unplugged would benefit you and your writing? What could you do without your devices for a day?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

1 thought on “2016 A to Z Challenge: U is for Unplugged”

  1. Ever so often I have to leave my electronic leash (cellphone) at home and reconnect with the real world. It’s so sad that you walk into a restaurant or wherever and see all these people sitting together, yet not communicating with one another. Instead they are focused on their electronic devices.

    I think unplugging from time to time is a great idea for all of us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

