2016 A to Z Challenge: Z is for Zombies

2016AtoZDay26

The horror genre is not my cup of tea, so I may be a little biased when I say this. I think the horror genre is one of those genres that gets a bad rap for over saturating the market. In the latter half of the 2000’s, vampires and werewolves were all the rage. Now, it’s zombies. I dare say that when The Walking Dead started to hit its popularity, every studio, toy company, and publishing firm were quick to jump on the bandwagon. Now, it’s gone overboard.

Recently, I saw a zombie flick with my cousin called Zombieland. I had little expectations for this film, wrote it off as another film trying to capitalize on the zombie trend. But then, my cousin brought something to my attention; something that never crossed my mind. The zombie sub-genre isn’t so much about killing zombies; it’s about the relationships that form through the survivors and the truths of human nature.

I still not a big fan of the zombie sub-genre, but I think I have a better understanding of it.

What say you? Are you a fan of zombie media? What truths do you see played out?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

5 thoughts on “2016 A to Z Challenge: Z is for Zombies”

  1. Like you, I am not a fan of horror, although I do agree with what you learned from your cousin. I read Justin Cronin’s novel The Passage and its sequel, and was able to see beyond the vampire element to the unfolding human story behind it.

    Congratulations on completing the A-Z challenge; it is quite an achievement in itself.

    Keith Channing A-Zing from http://keithkreates.com

    Like

  2. Hey, we both did zombies for the Z! I guess that was only to be expected. I love Zombieland but mostly because I think it’s hilarious and has an interesting take on the groups that form post-apocalypse. Congrats on completing the A to Z Challenge!

    Like

    1. It is a hilarious movie. I didn’t think I would enjoy it very much. My favorite part of the movie is Jesse Eisenberg’s rules for surviving the zombie apocalypse. They’re practical, but sometimes you have to know when to break them.

      Congrats on completing the A to Z Challenge, too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

