I’m Nominated for a Liebster Award

First of all, thanks to Marion Ann Berry for nominating me. And thanks to everyone who reads my blog and comments on my posts. In the year and a half I’ve been blogging, I never thought I would be nominated for anything. I started this blog to share stories, lessons I’ve learned, and opinions about whatever goes on in the world and in my life. Never in a million years did I think it would garner enough attention for anyone to nominate me. I am so honored.

So, here’s how it works. I answer eleven questions from the person who nominated me. Then I turn around and nominate eleven people and create eleven questions of my own. Let’s go!

Who is your favorite author and why?

My favorite author is Natalie Goldberg. I read Wild Mind in college and loved it. I got so much out of the exercises, especially the one where you write down five nouns and seven verbs, and create sentence using those combinations. I still have it and bought Writing Down the Bones. Her books are my go-tos for inspiration and ways to jumpstart my creativity. I want to read “Banana Rose” if I can find it. Out of all the authors I’ve read, she’s the one I want to meet the most. 

What are your thoughts on e-readers?

I’m not a fan of e-readers. I’m so used to old school hardcovers and paperbacks. But I have to say that I’ve lost a book or two at work, so I can see where having an e-reader has its advantages. But I fear that would get lost or stolen, too.

What is the most exciting thing you’ve ever done (that was also legal)?

The most exciting I’ve ever done is go on a real roller coaster at Kings Island–the kind that twists and loops. This may not sound exciting, but I was afraid of heights when I was younger. My brother and I went with some friends from Missouri, and they wanted to ride the tallest coaster around. I went with them, not wanting them to think I was afraid. After the ride, I felt a rush that I had never experienced before. At least, not until Lake Lanier. 

Does your family read your blog?

Sometimes. They know the blog exists. I have it where if I post something, it’s automatically posted on my Facebook page. I don’t get a lot of comments from them. 

What is your favorite movie and why?

My favorite movie is The Princess Bride. I could literally quote it word for word. It’s got just about everything for every movie fan: action, drama, fantasy, comedy. What’s not to like?

If you could invite any two famous people to dinner (dead or alive), who would it be and why?

If I could invite any two famous people to dinner, besides Natalie Goldberg, the first would be Sidney Poitier. I think he’s an excellent actor. Although I haven’t seen any of his work, I would love to hear what inspired him to pursue his dream. The second would be Matthew Quick. He wrote one of my favorite books in recent years, Silver Linings Playbook. I want to know his inspiration behind it.

If you won the lottery (we’re talking the big jackpot), what three things would you do first?

Here are the three things I would do. One, pay off all my debts. Two, hire an accountant to handle my winnings. Three, buy a cabin overlooking the lake.

What has been the most meaningful piece of literature in your life?

The most meaningful piece of literature in my life is the Bible. I try to read and study passages first thing in the morning and try to apply to my life.

Do you listen to music while you write/blog?

Sometimes, I do. It depends on what I’m writing. I don’t have a particular station that I go to, nor have created a playlist. But it’s something to consider. 

What book are you reading now?

I’m reading Emily’s Stitches: The Confessions of Thomas Calloway by Leverett Butts. It’s a continuous short story collection and a few independent stories.

What is your favorite movie sequel?

My favorite movie sequel is The Dark Knight. Heath Ledger’s performance as The Joker rivals that of Jack Nicholson. Aaron Eckhart’s performance as Harvey Dent/Two-Face was incredible. It’s the best film in Christopher Nolan’s “Dark Knight” trilogy. 

I had a great time answering these questions. So now, here are my nominees for the Liebster Award. I have to admit this is a little harder than I thought. Most of the blogs that I wanted to nominate are already nominated. It took a little time, but here’s my list (in no particular order).

  1. ARHtistic License
  2. Trials and Tribulations of Writing Fiction
  3. Even More Bonusparts!
  4. Amanda Staley
  5. Buttontapper Press
  6. Continuous Strings
  7. LitLatte
  8. Denise D. Young
  9. Caren Rich
  10. NV Rivera
  11. Chris Negron

Now, here are the questions:

  1. Who is your favorite author and why?
  2. What is your favorite genre to read/write?
  3. Where is your ideal writing spot?
  4. Before writing, what did you do for a living?
  5. Are you old-school (pen and paper) or new-school (laptop, smartphone, tablet)?
  6. What’s your favorite food?
  7. What’s the most embarrassing thing that’s ever happened to you?
  8. Did you go to college? If so, what was your major?
  9. Is there an a famous person people say you look like?
  10. What book would you like to see made into a movie?
  11. Do you listen to music while you write?

And there you have it. If you got nominated, write a post, following the same format:

  • Thank the person who nominated you. 
  • Answer the eleven questions I wrote on my post. 
  • Nominate 11 blogs–preferably those with less than 500 followers. 
  • Come up with 11 questions for your nominees to answer. 
  • Add the Liebster Award sticker to your post. (You can go the Liebster Award website to get stickers.)

That’s all there is to it. Take care everyone and have a good weekend. 

     

    Author: G. R. McNeese

    I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

    2 thoughts on “I’m Nominated for a Liebster Award”

    Leave a Reply

    