NaNo Rebels Unite!!

NaNo is off and running, so let me get this out of the way. Best of luck to everyone participating this year and I hope you reach your goals. On a recent post, I shared my reasons for not participating in NaNo. But that doesn’t mean I won’t be writing. I mentioned on my blog and on Twitter that I set out to finish three short stories by the end of the month. Apparently, this caught the attention of a couple of my Twitter followers. Specifically, Julie Reeser. And as such, she gave me a title for such an occasion. I am a “NaNo Rebel.”

From what I learned from Julie and a couple other writers, a “NaNo Rebel” is a writer who doesn’t participate in NaNo, but wants to accomplish writing-related goals. I didn’t know whether this was good or bad. But then I saw more writers added. Some had done NaNo before, but opted not to for various reasons. Some are even published authors, maybe have a book that started as a NaNo project. Afterwards, I didn’t feel guilty. I felt surrounded by writers who had goals of getting writing stuff done and didn’t need NaNo to validate themselves. I felt like I was part of a club or something. And I suspect there are other “NaNo Rebels” in the writing world.  I am in good company.

NaNo would, no doubt, challenge my resolve to meet my goal. But finding time to write around 1,700 words a day is daunting. Most of my works barely surpass 1,000 words. So that’s why I feel NaNo isn’t right for me. But thanks to Julie and other “NaNo Rebels,” I don’t have to feel guilty. I can write as many words in a day, in a month, and still feel connected to others taking on this tremendous task. 

Whether you decide to do NaNo or not, know that I, as well as many other “NaNo Rebels,” will be writing just as much and that you have cheerleaders. I suspect I will be a “NaNo Rebel” for life. But that’s fine with me. I will wear that badge proudly. 

So “NaNo Rebels,” what are your goals for this month?

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

10 thoughts on “NaNo Rebels Unite!!”

  1. Whoo! I hope you get time to squeeze in some words or journaling today, George! I had a cup of coffee this morning in between ferrying kids to work and classes, so I pounded out 900 words and finished that chapter off. With support from you and the others, we can get all kinds of awesome writing done! Just to give credit, @plynne_writes (Patricia Lynne) had the wonderful blog post that started it all: http://storydam.com/2016/10/23/adapting-a-challenge-to-fit-your-writing/

    Like

  2. LOL Didn’t realize I was a NaNo Rebel, but if the name fits … This month, I’m finishing the second of three short stories and writing the third, looking for markets/contests for all of them, continuing to shop my historical thriller, and finishing the rough draft of the first “book” (of 4 books that complete the novel) of my WIP. After that, I’ll be ready for some seriously mulled cider and the holidays. Good luck to everyone with their writing goals!

    Like

  3. The NaNo rebels seem to be growing! I just came from another blog talking about how to be a NaNo rebel, and now I think I probably have to join in this looser group. 🙂

    NaNo is really a time to find our own personal writing goals – which may or may not be those 1700 words a day – and try to see them through. So, good writing to you this month, George!

    Like

  4. I, too, am not participating in the NaNo challenge. Like you, the daily word count would overwhelm me to the point where my creativity and motivation would drowned as if being in quick sand. I doubt seriously that I could ever be a part of the phenomena.

    Like

  5. I’m a NaNo rebel too!! The idea of doing 1700 words /day for 30 straight days leaves me cold. They would be terrible words and would take me the other 11 months to fix!
    No, instead, my NaNo rebel goal is to finish the edits on the next book.
    Wishing all NaNo rebels and NanoWriMo participants a great writing month!

    Like

  6. I’m not a very good NaNo rebel, because I loved NaNo last year, and loved Camp NaNo last April; they really helped encourage and inspire me to write many more words than I otherwise would have. But right now, I have a ton of editing (and cutting!) to do; the last thing I need is to add more words to this behemoth of a manuscript. Plus I’m crazy busy at work so I couldn’t write 50K even if I wanted to. So I’ll be revising this month, when I get the chance, which won’t be as often as I’d like, but is still better than nothing. Plus a few flash fiction pieces, just to keep my blog happy. Can I still join your rebel club? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

