NaNo Rebel Update: Home Stretch Time

NaNo writers. NaNo Rebels. We are into the home stretch. Ten days of NaNoWriMo are left. I hope everyone is doing well. If not, hang in there. I’m here, as well as many other writers, to support and encourage. 

This past week was not good for me, if it’s any consolation to those who are struggling. I made plans to finish two stories this past weekend. Because of some unplanned issues (namely sleeping before picking up my sister-in-law), writing fell through. And if I didn’t have to work this morning, I would have put the finishing touches on one story at least. Such as it is with the writer’s life. It would be ideal if all we did was write all day. But some of us have day jobs, family to care for, errands to run. So on and so on. 

The more I think about my goals, the more I’m starting to think that I might not meet them. I’m trying to be optimistic, though. The last story I want to finish doesn’t appear long. But I haven’t written the ending. So it could be longer than I anticipated. I’ll just have to see where the story takes me.

The holidays are going to be tough. As the case with pretty much every writer I know. Family obligations and working some crazy shifts the week of Thanksgiving have me creating some possible solutions to meet my goals. Writing first thing in the morning is one solution. Writing on certain nights would be possible, as long as I have some coffee or Monster on hand.

So, this is where I stand today. I want to hear from my fellow writers and rebels on your progress. What are your plans these last ten days? Do you believe you’ll meet your goals? Why or why not? I’m curious to what everyone has to say. 

I’ll see you December 1st with my final update. I’ll let you know how it pans out. 

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

3 thoughts on “NaNo Rebel Update: Home Stretch Time”

  1. I hear ya. This whole month hasn’t really gone as planned here. I’m supposed to do my monthly goal blog post on Friday, and I’m dreading the reckoning. It’s gonna be ugly!
    Here’s hoping you’re able to fit in time in the mornings and bang out some words!

    Like

  2. Honestly, I went two or three months barely writing (a few words here and there) and am finally getting to a place where the words are starting to flow again. I’ve been writing haikus lately, which are great because they force you to really think about language (every single word counts, and subtext is necessary to carry the poem). And I’m just starting the “blueprint” for a trilogy. I’m still going to move slowly (“organic writing” would probably be the best term). So I guess in my own way I’m a NaNo Rebel, too! Good luck with your short stories!

    Like

Leave a Reply

