2016 NaNo Rebel Wrap-Up

It’s December 1st. November felt like it flew by. Having said that, another NaNoWriMo is in the books. Congratulations to everyone who participated, whether you accomplished churning out 50,000 words or not. Your efforts deserve commendation. As for NaNo Rebels like myself, I hope the month was just as productive. 

I set out to write three short stories during NaNo. I failed. I finished two stories. I think what hindered me was getting the writing time I want. Family and jobs took up most of my time. Gathering the energy to write was challenging. And there were days where I was in no mood to write. I thought about quitting on one occasion.

From this, though, I learned to take advantage of the free time I had to write something. As such, I couldn’t spend time editing while writing. So, I forced myself to use my spiral notebook, a.k.a. my draft book. It would have been easier to put it on my iPhone, but I wouldn’t have gotten as far. The temptation to edit would’ve been enormous. Writing it out in a notebook propelled me to get the words out, set the groundwork for my story. Only when I was finished could I edit and revise. That was not an easy process, but one I relished. This will be a new process for my stories. 

Even though I didn’t participate in NaNo,  I think this month was my best month writing-wise. I pushed myself to do something I hadn’t thought possible. And while I came close, I take comfort in knowing I have the capability to meet the goals I set.

So, where do I go from here? Right now, I am working on a new short story for Christmas. I’m pulling characters from a story I posted on my blog at the beginning of the year, putting them in a new situation. I’m in the rough draft stage right now, but hope to have a full-fledged story typed up before Christmas. I’m debating whether to post it here, but I’ll cross that bridge later. In the meantime, if anyone wants to know about and read the two stories I wrote during NaNo, feel free to let me know in the comments. We’ll work something out. 

Until next time…

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

7 thoughts on “2016 NaNo Rebel Wrap-Up”

  1. “Failure” is such a harsh word, especially when we manage to meet some of our goals. Better to consider that third story “in-progress”, George.

    Two stories is a strong accomplishment for one month, especially for someone who works and has a family and all the responsibilities that go along with that! I understand how much effort you give to your writing – making time, reaching out, delving deep – and to write that much in a single month is a huge triumph! Think back where you were a year or two ago at this time, and consider how much your (writing) life has changed. NaNo is a burst goal, but that burst of words on paper is just one part of the process. I’ve read your writing, and you put a lot of thought into your stories; you don’t simply toss words on a piece of paper.

    Your goals were realistic. Yeah, you fell a little bit short (I did, too), but you got a LOT done. Keep moving forward on your path, no matter how long it takes. It’s worth it. You’re worth it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the encouragement, Mayumi. It was a big deal getting those two stories done. It takes months for me to write a short story, even if it’s small in scope. I get discouraged if I’m not able to write a story in one sitting. I know a lot of it depends on length of story and time constraints. I’ve never been someone who can write a story in a day. But I wanted to challenge myself in that respect.

      You’re right, though. It doesn’t matter how long it takes to write a story. I want my works to be at their best. If it takes three months, so be it. I’m glad knowing I poured my heart and soul into my work.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve never understood that “write a story in one sitting” mentality. You should be able to READ a short story in a single setting, but write? A really good, concise short story takes a lot of work, and that takes time.

        Like

  2. The thought of monitored writing for a month really doesn’t sound that bad until I see it happens in November, of all months. Is it to distract me from the preparations for the coming holidays? If so, it doesn’t work. Is it set at this time of year because most people hate the thought of having to put on a coat to go outside, thus better to stay in and write? I don’t mind wearing a coat so this doesn’t work either.

    Two short stories is good, George. Are you going to submit them to magazines?

    Like

  3. I’m really intrigued by the idea of writing with actual pen and paper and the fact that it’s much harder to edit as you go along. Sometimes, I get stuck in constant edit mode on the computer and there are times when it would probably just be more useful to get a lot of words out on paper and edit later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

