Project Blacklight’s Anniversary Post

Hello there, bloggers! Happy New Year everyone and I hope 2017 will be a productive, positive year. That’s certainly a focus for me.

I received a notice from WordPress that today is Project Blacklight’s Anniversary. I’m amazed. But it’s mostly because I’ve forgotten when I started this blog. WordPress was kind enough to remind that it’s been two years since I started this blog. Again, I can’t believe it’s been this long. Doesn’t feel like two years; it feels longer. Maybe it’s because of the number of posts I’ve written in the two years, eclipsing the 100-post mark. Maybe it’s because I’ve tinkered with the format and theme in those two years. Or maybe it’s because of the number of followers I’ve gained. Whatever the case, it certainly doesn’t feel like two years.

This experience has been fun, sometimes challenging. There’s a lot of pressure maintaining a blog. And to be honest, it’s something I thought I could never be consistent with, especially with some other blogs I had. But from the get-go, this felt different. I felt like this was something I could do and be good at it. It certainly helped having the WordPress app on my phone. But even without it, I felt this blog could be the launchpad for something spectacular. I’m still building that launchpad after two years, but just as when I started this blog, I envision great things.

So, where does Project Blacklight go from here? Up, of course. In the last few weeks of 2016, I’ve had writing friends on Twitter suggest joining some groups and post my “expertise.” I’ve looked into one of them and it looks fun and challenging. I’m waiting on another mediator to respond, but expect at least one new “feature” this year. In fact, it starts Wednesday, so keep a look out for it.

Well, that is all for today. I hope 2017 goes well for all of you. Take care.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

3 thoughts on “Project Blacklight’s Anniversary Post”

  1. “There’s a lot of pressure maintaining a blog …”
    LOL, there certainly is. One of the decisions I’ve made for 2017 is to go from posting biweekly to once every three weeks. I love writing the posts, but since my “blog style” tends to 1200-1500 word “essays”, often requiring research, I’ve been losing too much precious fiction-writing time. Wishing you all success with your 2017 writing resolutions!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

