Weekend Coffee Share: Time to Get Writing

Good afternoon,

Please forgive me for starting this coffee session late. It’s been a busy morning. I’ve been up since 5:30. I had to take my sister-in-law to work. A couple of hours later, I took my daughter to karate class, where she got her white belt. I’m so proud of her. We hung out at the park for a little while. And now, we’re home.

So, if we were having coffee, I’d tell you that the choices are still slim. I’m drinking vitamin water today. You’re welcome to cashew milk, though. I’m sure my son won’t mind.

My wife had surgery this past Monday. I took some time off to help her recover. She’s home now and still on a liquid diet, but she should be able to start eating soft foods next week. I’m working on losing weight myself. We’ve talked about portion control and going on a semi-liquid diet. The big thing I need to cut out is the sugary stuff. Candies and sodas, specifically. It’s a challenge.

If we were haing coffee, I’d shift my conversation to writing. To start, I’d talk about the 365 Writing Club. I wrote every day and exceeded my goal. It helped that I wasn’t distracted by kids, TV, and the Internet. I wrote in my One Day app on my phone. But I miss actual writing in my journal.

Speaking of journals, I started a new story, but not in my draft book. I downloaded Google Docs and wrote it. Not a big deal, but I can make better notes having it down on paper. Anyway, the story’s not finished, but already I’m thinking about starting over. I don’t like how the story has turned out thus far. It feels flat. The protagonist, Terrence Welch, needs a setback, a challenge. Being the overachiever he is, I need to do something to shake his core. Something to coincide with the characters he encounters. I have a few ideas, but I hate that I’m coming up with them now. Oh well.

Well, that is all for this week. I’m sorry I don’t have much more to report, but I’m prepping for a busy week. On top of all the busy work, I’m setting a deadline to finish this rewrite by the end of the week. You’re welcome to stick around and play with my kids. Don’t get a lot of visitors. If not, no worries. Take care and God bless.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

8 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Time to Get Writing”

  1. Sugary stuff is my kryptonite too. If it helps, check out this app called DietBet, I tried it last year and saw some results (no, I’m not paid to promote them in any way). Good luck with your writing.

    Like

  2. Sounds like a busy time GR. Your description of your week dovetails right into the blog post I just finished writing. As John Lennon said, “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” Hope your wife is on the mend and that things settle down for you soon, at least for a bit.

    Like

  3. I wish your wife the best recovery and your daughter the best of fun in her karate class. I took up taekwondo in elementary and all through out high school. Not that I needed it all this time, but learning self defense has taught me a lot in life. Good luck with your writing and have a great week!

    Like

  4. Sounds like you’ve had a busy week, George! Sure hope your wife’s recovery continues well. Remember to take care of yourself along the way. It can be easy to overdo it when you’re looking after so many other folks.

    Like

  5. A small [tiny] suggestion for losing weight: The biggest spoon in your silverware drawer, the serving spoon, is the approximate size of ONE SERVING. By keeping this in mind, you can better judge how much you’re eating.

    My first drafts are always flat, flat as pancakes. Way too much telling and too little showing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

