Weekend Coffee Share: Celebration of Me

Good morning.

Let me first off say that it’s not easy being a morning person when you have to be. It might have been slightly easier in your younger years, but it’s different when you have to force yourself to get up before everybody else.

Now that I’ve vented, let’s drink some coffee and talk.

If we were having coffee, you might have noticed something different in me. Then again, maybe not. I celebrated my birthday this week. Technically, it was Monday, but I had to work, so I celebrated the day after. I didn’t get what I wanted, but I was surprised at what I got. I got a new journal, for starters. It’s a nice one with some encouraging advice. I filled a few pages the day after I received it, but haven’t done much writing since. (We’ll get to that in a moment.) I got some other nifty stuff like a check and some gaming socks. But perhaps the best present I got happened before my birthday: the Atlanta Falcons beating the Green Bay Packers and going to the Super Bowl. I was so ecstatic. I can’t wait until February 5th.


This past Friday, another celebration took place–at my daughter’s school. Friday was Dad’s Day. Dads played dodgeball, ate donuts, and received presents from their kids. It was awesome. I felt bad, though, for hitting my daughter. I was hoping she would catch my pass. But I did get hit and had to do exercises before coming back in. I apologized to her before we ate donuts.

If we were having coffee, I’d talk a little bit about my writing. Or lack of, recently. Trying to develop a habit of anything healthy is not easy. Writing is no different. Especially this week. I posted zeroes on the 365 Monthly Club three days this week, including back-to-back at the end of the week. I feel so disappointed in myself. Here I am saying that I’m making more of an effort to find writing time and I slacked off this past week. It’s not worth beating myself over it; I just need to get back on the horse. 

I will say that on one of the days I did write, I started a new story. A Valentine-themed tale, pulling characters from a previous story I posted on my blog last year. In addition, I took some time to outline new stories. Time will tell if and when I’ll get to write them. It is possible that I’ll lose interest in them beforehand. But I’ll worry about that later. 

Well, that is all for this weekend. If you’re a regular reader of my blog, my next IWSG post is coming soon. So keep an eye out for it. In the meantime, take care and God bless. 

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Celebration of Me”

Leave a Reply

