Weekend Coffee Share: Delayed While Preparing

Good afternoon,

If we were having coffee, be prepared for company. I’m having a pre-Super Bowl party since I have to work that day. There’s chili, chicken, and root beer. We have family and friends over, and they will be happy to meet you.

So while they’re occupied, let me share about my week. If we were having coffee, I’d share about how this week has been a week of delays. I attribute it to working such weird schedules. Monday was my anniversary. I’ve been married twelve years to a wonderful woman. Unfortunately, the date had to be delayed because I worked both of my jobs. The good thing is that we have an understanding. We schedule a day that I’m not working both jobs for a date. As far as gifts go, we usually pick one gift and that covers all the big moments.

 

While I wasn’t able to take my wife out to dinner, I got Friday off so I could take my daughter out for Daddy-Daughter Date Night at Chick-Fil-A. I did this last year and had a great time. This year was just as fun. They decorated a section of the food court like a fancy restaurant. We ate Chick-Fil-A, of course. And they gave us sheets of questions to ask and a sheet where we created our own story. We enjoyed it very much. 

If we were having coffee, I’d share about my writing. I wrote a draft of a Valentine-themed story. I pulled Characters from a previous story and brought them here. I finished the draft Monday. I started typing it out yesterday. There is another story I started, but I’m putting it on hold until I figure some things out. And besides, once I’m done with my Valentine story, there are a couple of new stories I’m anxious to start writing. I’m excited because they’re going to be outside my genre, which is a goal of mine for this year. I already have casts and beginnings of outlines. Still working on the plot line for one of them.

Well, that is all for this week. Feel free to partake in the food. There’s plenty for everyone. Fair warning: the chili is a little spicy. 

Until next time…

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

6 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Delayed While Preparing”

  1. Hi. Congratulations on your anniversary and how lovely to have a date with your daughter. Love the Cool Kidz tea shirt the person is wearing. Congratulations too on finishing your draft. That is such an exciting time and I know what having stories floating around in your head is like. I feel like I have to finish the one I’m on but those stories in your head keep clamouring to get out. Thanks for the coffee

    Like

  2. Hi and thanks for the coffee. Your dinner with your daughter sounds like a great idea. I might have invite my Dad out for dinner. Or, maybe lunch. We’ve been away for three weeks and what with the kids activities, I don’t know when we’ll be catching up with him and my Mum next. They live about an hour away so we should be able to get together soon.
    I live in Australia so am well away from Superbowl fever but did see something on the news tonight and figured I would be seeing so many visitors to my blog tomorrow.
    Hope you have a great week and get a chance to go out with your wife.
    xx Rowena

    Like

Leave a Reply

