Weekend Coffee Share: Rest Time

Good morning,

I’m afraid I don’t have much to talk about today. You might have noticed that the house feels a little more spacious. That’s because we’ve been purging the past few days. We’ve been clearing out the clutter, getting more organized. I have to say I feel a little calmer after the purge. At least, I can sit at my table without having to move stuff around.

So, if we were having coffee, I’d tell you about finally pulling the trigger on joining LA Fitness. The representatives were kind enough to give us guest passes until we were ready. We’ve been taking advantage of it, going whenever possible, which was just about every day. So last night, after work, we signed up and became full-fledged members. Now, the question becomes finding days to work out. With the schedules I have and one car between four people, it’s hard. So the next thing to get is a calendar so we can plan out the days for us to go to the gym.

This week has been somewhat stressful. There was the stress of coordinating doctor’s visits with both of my jobs. And then there was the stress of keeping up with this writing club I’m in on Facebook. I vented some of my frustrations this week, from not being able to write what I want to getting burnt out on writing just to meet word count goals. I wasn’t someone who really cared about meeting word counts. Since joining this club, that has changed. I know it’s not about meeting the goals every day; it’s about developing the habit of writing every day. But there are days when it’s hard to sit down and write something.

A lot of people suggested taking a day off writing once in a while. It’s one thing to take a day off writing, and another thing when you’re too occupied to sit down and write. The latter is usually the case with me these days. But there have been days where I stepped away from writing. But there were times were days became weeks and weeks became months. I definitely don’t want it to get to where I don’t write for an extended period of time.

If we were having coffee, I’d show a book I started reading. I bought it years ago at a local bookstore, but never read it through. It’s a collection of short stories written by African-American authors. It’s two volumes worth of stories. It touches on a lot of different subjects. Most of them relatable and could transcend into what African-Americans face today. I am going to try to read one story a day, which I’ll probably do right before bed.

Well, that’s all. Take care.

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

3 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Rest Time”

  1. You CAN make writing a habit, even in found minutes between obligations. The best thing I ever did was take Jeff Goins’ 500 word challenge.

    Like

  2. I would love to purge a lot that is in my house. I don’t understand why we keep paraphernalia we will never use again. Yet it takes up room in the closets, the dressers, and even under beds. I’m envious of your open spaces.

    Like

Leave a Reply

