Rising From the Grave: An IWSG Post


Once again, it’s time for a post from the Insecure Writers Support Group. I have to say that I enjoy writing these posts, and this is only the third post I’ve done. 

I had a couple of ideas for original posts, but they couldn’t wait until today. So, I’ll take on this month’s question. 

Have you ever pulled out a really old story and reworked it? Did it work out?

Any writer will tell you that there’s at least one story that he wishes he could do over, regardless of its success. It’s just part of the process. I have such a story. It was published in a local college literary magazine. It was one of my first stories. I wrote it out like a journal. Looking back on it years later (I still have a copy of the magazine), I realize there are so many flaws in it. Too many to mention here. 

One year, I thought about pulling it out and reworking it. Unfortunately, it didn’t go very well. I think the musevwas telling me that it wasn’t necessary to rewrite it. That I needed it to chalk it up to learning experience. 

I think I am a better writer than when I wrote it years ago. At least, I think I am. I haven’t submitted anything since that story. But that’s something I’m going to remedy this year. 

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

5 thoughts on “Rising From the Grave: An IWSG Post”

  1. Sometimes our early stories are more learning experiences than anything. I have a novel that I wrote years ago, right when I finished graduate school, that is really rough. I still love the characters, but the world-building is a mess and some of the plot twists are forced. Maybe someday I’ll go back to that story, but for now it’s on the back-burner. Even if I never publish it, I can still look back fondly on the time spent writing it and know that I learned a great deal in the creation of that story. Nice post!

    Like

  2. I have a few novels I wrote in high school, and at the time I thought they were pretty good. Now, of course, I look at them and laugh. I won’t go back and rewrite them all, but there are a couple of them that still hold my interest. I can only hope I’m a better writer by the time I get to them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

