Weekend Coffee Share: Catching Up

Good afternoon.

I know it’s been a couple of weeks since we’ve last talked. Help yourself to some coffee and orange juice. I also have unsweetened tea, if you’re so inclined to have some.

So, we didn’t talk last week because my family was still fighting an illness going around. That took up a lot of my time that week. Not too mention work can be taxing and not allow time for gathering around the table. It’s pretty much get up and go in my life; not a whole lot of time to do much of anything else. But now that the illness has subsided, we can talk. 

So Spring is in full effect, though the first couple of days, it didn’t seem that way. And my neighborhood went through a big storm; knocked out power in a lot of areas, including the Walmart where I work at, for an extended period of time. Pretty sure it cost the store a lot of money with most of the cold stuff going to waste. I thought about not coming in, especially since I took my daughter to the pediatrician. She had the flu and a viral infection. She pretty much had to let it run its course. So I had a legitimate reason to take the day off, but the managers probably wouldn’t see it that way. So I came in, worked my hours and left.

Zoe did get better, and just in time for Sno-Cone Day at her school yesterday. Coincidence? Maybe. But who am I to argue. That same day, I went to the doctor’s for my annual physical. I got the results later that evening. Overall, I’m in better health. Still have questions on some of the numbers. I’ll find out about them sometime this week. And last night, we went to Golden Corral to celebrate my mom’s birthday. It was very fun, very relaxing. We didn’t go overboard on the food. Thank goodness. Mom had a great time. She got a lot of cards and a few trinkets. Yeah, it was a good night. 

In the two weeks since we’ve talked, I’ve been reading posts on Facebook writing groups and attending Twitter chats about marketing. This is something I haven’t thought about because I feel like I’m not at that stage. But it’s never too early to start, apparently. I’m thinking about my blog as we’re chatting right now. I feel like it needs more pizazz. Something to make it stand out. Someone mentioned on Twitter creating business cards to pass to potential editors and agents. It’s very overwhelming, but it is necessary.

Speaking of blogs, the April A to Z Challenge is fast approaching. I’ve done it for two years straight, but have decided not to do it this year. It’s not as if my theme was something awe-inspiring and eye-catching. And creating various topics was a struggle. I think if I was writing a book series or even a novel, it might be better. Seeing how I’m doing neither, I think it’s better I sit this one out. I’m sorry to those who’ve been following my blog from the beginning. 

I’ve been busy with writing as I’m thinking about how to market myself. I finished the rough drafts of two stories and a third draft of another. The third draft is with my critique partner. I’m waiting on her comments. As it stands, I’m on pace of writing a story a month. I’ve heard that one should be able to churn out a short story a week, but I don’t operate that way. I don’t have that many ideas floating around. But I might try that sometime this year. Maybe in the next month or so. We’ll see. 

Well, that about covers everything that’s happened the past two weeks. Hopefully things are going well with you. Look forward to your comments if you feel inclined to share. Oh, by the way, my next Weekend Coffee Share will be a quarterly assessment of my writing journey this year. So this might be a little long-winded. Or not. It depends on how in depth I go and how critical I am on my assessment. 

Until next time…

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

9 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Catching Up”

  1. Good luck with your writing. I’m doing AtoZ for the second time this year. I think it will be fun, but it does take a substantial amount of time and planning. Maybe you’ll hop on board again next year?

    Like

  2. Glad your daughter is better coincidence or not. I don’t think with writing that there is any specified amount you have to do as long as you do what is right for you. Good luck with it. You are lucky to have a critique partner. They can be invaluable. I hadn’t thought of doing the A – Z. I did it a few years ago and said I would do it when I had more time. Just not sure that next month is it. Perhaps the following year I’ll join you for it. I hope you have a great week and thanks for coffee.

    Like

  3. I’m curious which marketing groups you’ve participated with on Twitter. I know the #SocialRoadTrip on Tuesday nights is a good one and they’re full of ideas! Also, hosting your own Twitter chat helps get you followers to get your name out there. I host a writing (usually) chat on Sunday mornings called #JustAddTea (same as my blog).

    Glad to hear the family is feeling better! See you next week!

    Like

    1. I haven’t participated in any marketing groups. To be honest, I don’t think I’m at a stage to start marketing myself. I don’t have anything remotely close to a novel or a collection of short stories. But I suppose it’s not too late to start.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely check out the #SocialRoadTrip app. They’re a friendly bunch! And a lot of them do the #SpoofChat on Wednesday nights. It was through those 2 groups that I really started to get followers. They’re brutally honest, but fun.

        Like

Leave a Reply

