Weekend Coffee Share: Lights, Camera, Action

Good morning,

Good to see you. I apologize for the scattered mess in my kitchen. Colleen started selling makeup a couple of weeks ago. I’ll get into that in a minute. In the meantime, I’ll get the Keurig cups. Let me know what you want. We also have orange juice and milk and a couple of protein shakes. I’ll wait…

Okay, settled in? Good. 

First of all, it’s good to see you. I know last week, I dropped a lot since I missed the week before. We’ll I’m happy to report we’re in the clear. We’re getting back into our routine, somewhat. It’s going to take a little while.

Yesterday, I bought a book written by my old professor from Georgia State. Being that he taught a thesis on Creative Writing, it made sense that he would have a published book. I bought “Luminous Myesteries.” He has another book that I’m going to hunt down. I think it’s a collection of short stories. I’m going to look it up today. Colleen thinks I should shoot an email to him, catch up on old times. I don’t know if he’ll remember me, and I’m a little ashamed that I don’t have anything published since graduating. Still, it can’t hurt to reach out to him. He may be the mentor I’m searching for.

Now, as I mentioned before, Colleen is selling makeup for Younique. One of her friends sold her on the idea. It’s been a few weeks now. She’s posting Facebook Live videos, demonstrating some of the products. I was in one of her videos, where I put on a cleansing mask as well as a couple of other products. Truth be told, it felt good to have that spa-like treatment. I should do it more often. As far as her business goes, she’s gotten a few customers. She wishes more leads would bite. Like anything else, it’s going to take time. I imagine this is what marketing looks like. 

Seeing Colleen post videos on Facebook, marketing herself, has me thinking. Though I don’t have a manuscript in the works, it’s never too early to showcase your talents. I have other Facebook friends who share their personal opinions on different subjects. I have opinions I want to share. Opinions on writing, personal care, politics ( though I try to avoid them), etc. My problem is that I tend to ramble, which is odd because I write stories where there’s not a lot of room for fluff. I’m a scatterbrain when it comes to speaking. Now I’m not saying I need a script. It’s live, so there’s a level of authenticity. I just think I need to reel in the randomness.

Well, that is all for today. I know I promised a quarterly assessment of my writing goals for the year, but I’m saving it for my next Insecure Writer’s Support Group coming this Wednesday. So stop by my blog Wednesday if you feel up for it. 

Until next time…

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

6 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Lights, Camera, Action”

  1. I think it is a fine idea to livestream the skin care products and include you as a model..she will get traction with that if she does it on a regularly scheduled basis ..plus you will have fun with it. Enjoy!

    Like

  2. Since you already have a blog, you can use that to help your marketing. That’s partly why mine talks almost entirely about my dating life… I write predominantly romance stories. I also include my poetry and stuff there too. And, to increase your readership, ask for guest writers. I did a month long study of romance last year on my blog with guest authors. I saw my readers increase, and because most of the people were found via Twitter, that’s when my Twitter following really grew. It’s never too soon to start marketing!

    Good luck with the make-up stuff! And thanks for joining us for the Twitter chat today!

    Like

  3. My sister-in-law also sells Younique (started sometime last year) and loves it. Good luck to Colleen with her sales. I agree that it is never too early to showcase your talents. Even though you don’t have a manuscript, you can still drive readers to your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

